We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend an afternoon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American River Bicycle Trail

American River Bicycle Trail
Sacramento, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 96 attractions in Sacramento
Type: Biking Trails
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Part of the American Discovery Trail, this path is exclusively for non-motorized use, and it extends throughout the city.
Sacramento, California, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Scenery is fabulous. Nice path along the river to walk or bike and many little trails taking you down to the rivers edge.My favorite area is along Hagan Park where you can stop and let the kids play at the park. A word of caution though if you are going with young children, the other cyclists can be very fast and aggressive. Some holler at you to move out of the way! So keep your children close and move them off to the side of the trail when a large group is approaching.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    20
    5
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
roseville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love the Bike Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The American River Bike trail is a fantastic. Lot's of beautiful scenery as you ride, run, walk or skate by the American River. As a warning, you must be paying attention since there can be some fast riding, particulalry on busy weekend mornings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ride the parkway all the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

You see everyone on the parkway: walkers, joggers, people with families, people with dogs and strollers but my big attraction is riding my bike there. I'm in a women's cycling club and we use the trail all year round. Just as a reminder: cyclists ride on the right side and walkers and joggers are suppossed to run or walk FACING traffic. This seems strange and many people don't do it but walking instructions are stenciled on the pavement. There are quite a few cyclists and we ride about 15 mph (which is the speed limit) so please obey the traffic instructions.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
1 review
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The site was so beautiful. Also i come there every day to run and work outduring the day. So you should come and see the american river.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I ride my bicycle along this trail twice a week, about 15 miles in each direction from Discovery Park. So many times I would like to just pull off the trail and hike down to one of the secluded beaches in late summer and early fall. Picture perfect.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American River Bicycle Trail also viewed

 

Been to American River Bicycle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American River Bicycle Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added American River Bicycle Trail to your Saves list