We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Bike Trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American River Bicycle Trail

American River Bicycle Trail
Sacramento, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 175 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the American Discovery Trail, this path is exclusively for non-motorized use, and it extends throughout the city.
roseville
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love the Bike Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The American River Bike trail is a fantastic. Lot's of beautiful scenery as you ride, run, walk or skate by the American River. As a warning, you must be paying attention since there can be some fast riding, particulalry on busy weekend mornings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    35
    7
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ride the parkway all the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

You see everyone on the parkway: walkers, joggers, people with families, people with dogs and strollers but my big attraction is riding my bike there. I'm in a women's cycling club and we use the trail all year round. Just as a reminder: cyclists ride on the right side and walkers and joggers are suppossed to run or walk FACING traffic. This seems strange and many people don't do it but walking instructions are stenciled on the pavement. There are quite a few cyclists and we ride about 15 mph (which is the speed limit) so please obey the traffic instructions.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
1 review
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The site was so beautiful. Also i come there every day to run and work outduring the day. So you should come and see the american river.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I ride my bicycle along this trail twice a week, about 15 miles in each direction from Discovery Park. So many times I would like to just pull off the trail and hike down to one of the secluded beaches in late summer and early fall. Picture perfect.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lucky Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

How lucky Sacramento is to have this great bike trail that passes through so many locales along the American River. Whether you are biking or walking you will love this bike path. Now to have the Little Pocket open up so we can connect the Sacramento River Trail to downtown.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American River Bicycle Trail also viewed

 

Been to American River Bicycle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American River Bicycle Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.