We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cyclist resource” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American River Bicycle Trail

American River Bicycle Trail
Sacramento, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Activities in Sacramento
Type: Biking Trails, Sports
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the American Discovery Trail, this path is exclusively for non-motorized use, and it extends throughout the city.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great cyclist resource”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is mostly well-maintained with drinking fountains and restrooms well spaced out, beautiful scenery, including overlooks of the river with a fair number of picnic tables along the way. You feel that you are almost in the country, yet there are reasonably placed access points to get you right back to civilization when you're ready.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    25
    5
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the American River Parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Trial is incredible. Near downtown Sacramento there are some homeless camps, but I have never had a problem with that. I love that I can leave my place near downtown Sac, ride all the way to Folsom with out having to stop. If you want to stop, there are plenty of places to eat, get a beer, or take a swim. It does get more scenic the closer you get to Folsom.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acampo, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We try to bike the American River Parkway at least twice a month, and have been doing so for years. We tend to park near REI, the college or the Watt entrance because miles 4-30 are our favorites. Seems the closer one rides to Folsum the more smiles and greeting you get from other riders. Below mile 4 hardly anyone says hello and it is a sketchy area. We have biked the parkway one way and used the light rail to get back to our car. We have seen as many as 14 deer on a ride, removed rattlesnakes off the trail twice, love watching the salmon run in Oct-December. Only problem that has ever occurred is my husband was hit by a slingshot once. Lots of wonderful people use the parkway but it is not overused like the bike trail I took in Seattle once, that was congested. We have seen an increase in use of the bike trail by bikers, walkers, joggers and an occasional skater. We try not to use it on weekends preferring the quietness of weekdays. Great birding, biking and there are many access points. We even did a stayvacation and took a niece and 3 nephews for three days of riding (ages 7-11), swimming and hiking...they did 37 miles one day and I will always be beholden to a bikehiker who stopped and asked them how far they were riding then nearly fell over when they said we were on mile 30 and still had more miles to go. He made them feel so proud of themselves. It is great for children to ride but make sure to have them follow the rules. most bikers are careful and mindful that children may be riding but a few riders go way to fast for a bike trail.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very nice bike trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

32 mile paved trail runs from Old Sacramento to Folsom Lake. Many entry points and intersects several major roads. There are port a johns and some drinking fountains also along this trail. Just a few words of caution - occasionally there are some more serious bikers who are going too fast so if you are biking with young kids and moving more slowly, keep a look out. Also, there are some parts of this trail that may not be that safe for women to ride by themselves. I don't mean to sound paranoid or make it seem like you are riding through a slum, but I am just being honest. I would not want my wife riding by herself through some parts of this trail especially when there are fewer people around (weekdays during the day?). Here is weblink for more info -

http://www.traillink.com/trailsearch.aspx?city=Sacramento&state=CA&keyword=American+River+Bike+Trail

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful but a homeless camp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I still feel safe here during the day. The trail is paved and great for walkers, joggers and bike riders. Unfortunately near the downtown, more homeless people seem to camp.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American River Bicycle Trail also viewed

 

Been to American River Bicycle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American River Bicycle Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.