We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sterling Hotel Sacramento to your Saves list
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I attended a conference in Sacramento, and usually choose the Citizen Hotel downtown for our accommodations. This time, we wanted something a little different than the big hotel. We chose the Sterling hotel, which is located a couple of blocks from the Citizen, in a fantastic downtown location. The hotel is actually an old, historic, Victorian house. There are about 10-15 rooms in the 3 story house, each one different. We chose a queen bed room on the second floor, room 202, although we were told we could choose another if we wished. I was very impressed with the size of the room, and the tall ceilings with beautiful crown molding. The bathroom was very spacious with a double jacuzzi tub, and the living area included a full desk, free wi-fi, and walk in closet. The bed was very cozy and comfortable, and the views out the three large windows surrounding our bed was very relaxing. The windows opened, albeit, are quite heavy and historic, and had to be held open with a stick provided by the front desk:) We slept with the windows wide open to catch the wonderful breeze coming through the room. In back of the bed was a large picture window that looked out on to a fully established, beautiful pink blooming plumb tree. Our room also looked down onto the outside garden seating at the gourmet restaurant at the hotel, which is located off the basement. Although we were in the center of town, the low level of street noise was not bothersome, and quite expected. The hotel is very old, and the room could use a bit of refurbishing, i.e., definitely the jacuzzi tub fixtures, and the carpet in the room could use a scrub. However, the comfort of the room and common areas was that of an old house, "grandma's" house if you will, and the normal accouterments you might expect from a modern hotel were easily forgotten. The structural inconsistencies just added to the wonderful character. Included were a simple continental breakfast with hot coffee and juice. Front desk service by all the staff was fantastic. We will definitely be back to try another room!

Room Tip: The house is located in the middle of the town, so I would guess the noise level is the same in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
13
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
316 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was on a business trip in Sacramento and decided to try out this hotel instead on staying in one of the hotel chain.The hotel is located in nice quiet neighborhood, a few blocks from the conventional center and the Capitol. There are less than 20 rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. The room is spacious and clean.

The only complaint is the parking of off street. It is easy to find parking right outside the hotel but you have to feed the meter between 8am and 6pm except Sunday. The staff is happy to provide quarters for the meter. You can also park the car in a parking lot a block away with no in-and-out privilege. Hence the 4 stars, instead of 5.

I would stay here again if I visit Sacramento again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hidden amongst the Magnolia's in a part of town normally walked passed is a really lovely place to spend a Sunday lunch. Food and service is excellent and the best thing is that you can generally walk in and get a table without waiting. The Breakfast Burrito was elevated to a completely new level and the Bottomless Mimosa's just kept flowing. Will definitely go back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My lovely wife and I spent two nights at The Sterling Hotel in April, 2013. What a wonderful piece of victorian era splendor. We had a lovely room with jacuzzi tub over the check in area. The bathroom was huge with wainscot specialty tile throughout. The restaurant (indoor and outdoor) served fabulous treats. The best part of our stay was just walking about the neighborhood which was chockfull of old victorians, craftsman style homes and whimsical touches from the turn of the century. Yes, there are some street people here and there, but nobody hassled us and we felt very safe. One block down from the hotel is the Sacramento Theatre Company where we had the opportunity to see the world premier of "The Little Princess". A treat highlighting a wonderful weekend getaway. And if you like to eat, there are countless very good quality restaurants within a couple blocks. My question is this: Why would you stay in a generic blah blah motor lodge (of which there are quite a few in the neighborhood) when you could stay here? Yes, the Sterling is a bit more expensive, but well worth it!! Splurge and feel the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlinghotelsac, General Manager at The Sterling Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've stayed at the Sterling several times, and until now, it has always been on the winning side in the charming vs. rundown battle that older hotels must fight. I hate to say it, but it appears to be losing the fight. Used to be that the picturesque mansion and friendly staff offered enough to offset the lack of amenities and the slight seediness around the edges. It almost feels as if some corporate manager or cost-cutting consultant gave the place a once-over...and not to the benefit of the customer.
The first thing that has changed is the installation of a new energy-efficient thermostat system, which requires that your hotel keycard be inserted into a slot in order for the climate control to work. I'm all for energy efficiency, and I have stayed in modern hotels that use the keycard system successfully. However, the Sterling is an old building: when I arrived (late in the evening), my 3rd-floor suite had been heated to the upper 80's by the sun, and it took hours to cool down to a temperature suitable for sleeping--and it was only April.
Other, smaller issues--none of which on their own would deter me--detract from the experience when taken all together: the carpets desperately need a shampoo, the (very elegant) faucet handle fell off in my hand (see photo), the hairdryer has no "on" button (you have to keep pressing a little bar on the handle--when you release pressure, it shuts off); the summon-the-elevator button on the main floor has a faulty contact (so you have to press it 3-5 times to get the light to go on and open the door), and the "free wine in the lobby" happy hour has apparently been replaced by a far less classy "free app at the restaurant" coupon.
Terrible? Not at all. You can see that other recent travelers liked it fine. The location is still nice, most of the rooms are spacious, and the Sterling is definitely not a sterile chain hotel. However, those who remember the Sterling from happier times may be disappointed. For me it no longer offers enough of a trade-off to give up the comfort and convenience available at other Capitol-area hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlinghotelsac, General Manager at The Sterling Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that things were not to your satisfaction. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future.

The energy efficient thermostats were just installed in all of the guest rooms and we are still working to figure out what the happy medium temperature should be when the rooms are unoccupied. The carpet has just been replaced in mid-May and new bedding and curtains are in the works.

Thank you again for your input. Reviews like this help us learn where we need to focus our efforts to make the Sterling Hotel to model of charm and luxury that you experienced in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEASANTON
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Picked this hotel since it was a short walk to the Crest Theater. Got a suite on the 3rd floor. Very nice and roomy. Friendly staff. Simple continental breakfast. Restaurant was closed do to an equipment issue so we walked to the Esquire Grill which was on the way to the theater. See separate review for that.

Room Tip: The rooms on H Street (front of the house, or east side of the house) are a little quieter than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hotel was recommended by a local friend. I travel a lot and usually end up staying at the hotels like Holiday Inn, etc. This was a definite upgrade and will definitely stay again in the future. Lauren at the front-desk is fantastic and very accommodating. The internet is FREE, which is unheard of for nice hotels. The breakfast is simple and easy. The location is the best part...very easily walk able to local restaurants and bars. Overall, friendly service. great rooms, beautiful home with a great feel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#5 of 83 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 83 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Address: 1300 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sterling Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sterling Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sterling Hotel Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.