We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Cool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Greens Hotel to your Saves list
The Greens Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1700 Del Paso Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Budget Cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel creates its own category: "budget cool." We had never been to Sacramento before and chose this hotel based primarily on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Our room -- which we got for the unbelievably low price of $70/nt -- was spacious and nicely appointed. The bathroom was great and the bed was very comfortable with nice sheets. As noted in other reviews, the area in which the hotel is located is transitional; while there is some development and the area doesn't feel dangerous, there aren't a lot of places you can reach on foot. (It was a short trip to Old Sac and midtown, though.) Because there wasn't a lot nearby, it would have been nice to have coffee available in the room or in the office.
This hotel is definitely a good bargain.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
5
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

The Greens Hotel and staff made my first, solo and shotgun visit to Sacramento the best vacation decision that I could have ever made.

At first, even the big-city Chi-town gal (me) was a bit overwhelmed walking out of the airport to 90°+ weather, hopping in a cab and driving across the sprawling dried summer grasslands of Sacramento. But, it all changed upon my arrival to the Greens.

You walk up to the place and it's such a warm, modern and fresh take on an a classic motel layout. The patio is blanketed with Cali flora (think cacti, hearty shrubbery), trendy outdoor furniture and mostly shaded, thanks to the thoughtfully arranged aerial sheets of tarp pulled tightly and securely.

I fell in love with my room. Vibrant, avocado green walls make up room "V" (which I stayed in). Layers of light and heavy black curtains over the window give you the option of shaded/partial light to complete darkness (which I neeeed to sleep at night). The contrasting red furniture was such a stylish touch, the black-and-white patterned floral carpet was clean and cute and the crisp, white sheets pulled everything together.

The staff was amazing. Rick and Yvonne were unbelievably accommodating. I could not have dreamed up a more pleasant, hospitable pair. They were the comfort that I needed while I was away from everything that I knew (behind the scenes: I booked the trip to Sacramento because the band I wanted to see wasn't coming to Chicago this summer. I didn't want to visit some close small town so I visited the far-away small city instead). They genuinely wanted to make sure my trip was enjoyable and they succeeded.

Would I stay at the Greens again? Definitely! It was so refreshing to find a successful non-chain, environmentally conscious hotel to add to my much needed vacation. Thanks, Greens :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is my second time photographing models at The Greens Hotel. The Greens Hotel is a GREAT place to work on photo shoots. It is an amazing, colorful, rich and modern hotel to work in. Every single spot is amazing and unique. The personel is very professional and friendly. Prices are very resonable. You should definitely check it out. Your gonna love it. I highly recomend it. I had a great and productive time there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I loved our recent stay at The Greens Hotel. Rick, the manager, was super accommodating and helpful. We loved the renovation and all around decor, the bed was very comfy and firm, the bathroom was spotless, and the atmosphere was cozy yet chic, all at a very reasonable price. We have recommended The Greens Hotel to al our friends and plan on staying here next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I love the concept and the staff. Rooms were fun and the property was wonderful to sit outside and talk for hours into the evening.

The area needs more life to it - but the hotel is a gem in the mine. Rick the manager was incredibly knowledgeable and kind.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is a diamond in the rough. I stayed in room Q and it had two very comfortable beds. It has wonderful designer touches and the people running the place are very nice. I used the pool and loved the privacy of the pool area. It has gates for secure parking and overall I felt very safe. There is a nice library of books to choose from in the office. The area it self appears to be going through a revitalization. I did eat breakfast next door at Lil Joe's and it was your typical greasy spoon diner.

Would I go out of my way to stay here again? Definitely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Sacramento seems to be saturated with chain motels with no character so it was a great pleasure to find The Greens Hotel.  They have created a wonderful and hip environment with comfort, charm, brilliant design and a warm, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greens Hotel

Address: 1700 Del Paso Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Greens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greens Hotel has re-opened on November 7, 2014! We have worked very hard to make sure that our accommodation's, landscape, and public areas are comfortable, clean, and welcoming. We have added a Keurig to every room, the nicest bathroom amenity available to us,luxurious mattress pads, and comfortable bedding to make your stay memorable. The Greens Hotel is the centerpiece of an authentic little Sacramento neighborhood where mid-century suburbia shares the sidewalks with the best of today's design, art, fashion and dining. Twenty-six rooms named A through Z and one suite, frame a casual commons, best for a breezy summer nights gathering around the pool or in one of our private and intimate courtyards, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Greens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.