We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO UNIQUE!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double the Fun
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“SO UNIQUE!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The service was great, the parking required either a long walk or valet which worried me. The entire hotel as well as the room had so much character with such a story to tell behind it. The breakfast at the restaurant was the best omelet I have ever had in my life!!! The room was very clean and classy with crazy tall ceilings, and the bed was very comfortable. I accidentally booked the wrong date for our stay on Expedia which states that there are no refunds, the hotel clerk at the front desk took the time to talk to Expedia about my mistake, had them issue a refund(even though they were not required to) and also book me a new room. The customer service and atmosphere is outstanding, I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    157
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
51
131
36
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I loved my stay at the Citizen and would recommend this place to lay your head if you're traveling to the state Capitol.

From the moment you arrive, everyone from the valets to the various staff walking around greet you with a warm hello. I was in some beat up travel clothes, so I thought I was gonna get the Julia Roberts treatment from Pretty Woman being in such a swanky hotel, but it was quite the opposite. Everyone was super friendly. I had the pleasure of having Kristin check me into my room and loved that she gave me the options of where to stay. I'm sure all the rooms are great, but she asked what kinds of preferences I had; being okay with noise from the adjacent concert in the park, I opted for the high room with a view.

The rooms are a little on the small size, but decked out in some pretty amazing decor. The bed is super comfy and there is a desk and a flat screen for your entertainment. Wifi is not included and comes at a cost of $9.95 per day for 1mbps or $15.95 for 2mbps. Either is pretty slow, but adequate enough for web surfing and replying to e-mails. I wouldn't try to stream any video files or download photo files as it would probably take forever.

Located within walking distance of pretty much everything, you're surrounded by some great restaurants, coffee shops and even the park across the street that seems to have a lot of cool entertainment on the weekend during the summer. On this particular Fri/Sat, they had a free concert series going on full of great tunes, food trucks and other vendors to choose from. It ended at 9PM, so it wasn't an all night rager, but a lot of people showed up to support local culture in the community - it was super cool.

The hotel does have a restaurant downstairs that's a little on the high side, but if you're feeling adventurous, there are a ton of dining options in the area just a short walk away.

This is definitely going to be my hotel destination the next time I return to the city. Everything about my stay was just great and I had no complaints.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location downtown. Easy walking distance to multiple local attractions, restaurants and bars. The architecture of the building and the interior design of the hotel and its rooms are excellent. A unique, historic and beautiful hotel in Sacramento that is reminiscent ot excellent hotels in larger, international metropolises. Room service is very good and they will make efforts to accomodate your off the menu requests. Highly recommended for anyone planning on staying in Sacramento, particularly if you are looking for a different experience than what is offered at larger chain hotel properties.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a corner suite. The added light and increased views from the additional windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a great stay at the Citizen. Perfect location for downtown making everything walkable. The staff was first rate and everyone was super friendly. The rooms were clean and was very quiet. The Grange was an extra treat! Make sure you dine there as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is situated in downtown Sacramento. It was easy to find and staff was very helpful. This is a beautiful boutique hotel. in the lobby, think dark wood and velvet upholstered furniture. While the fixtures were modern, including a flat screen tv, the decor of the room was very traditional.

Since prior reviews said place could be noisy, we asked for a room on a high floor. We were placed on the 10th floor but could still occasionally hear the loud bass from music playing in cars as they drove by. This was not a huge problem for us, but ear plugs were provided with the bathroom toiletries just in case.

The rooms were a bit smaller than other hotels, but there was ample room for suitcases, etc...again, not a problem for us. We had a room with two double beds and our party of 4 was quite comfortable.

We had brunch in the restaurant downstairs. There was no wait and service was fine. Food was great and price reasonable.

Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our first trip to Sacramento and the hotel was great. Staff exceptionally friendly, offering good advice to make our stay as best as possible. We opted to upgrade to a suite as we were 2 adults and a 16 year old. Space wise was a bit tight, however still worth the extra dollars. Area is close by everything. Shame the state capital appears to be neglected. Historically very interesting, and hotel is in the midst of all the major attractions, not that there's many. Lots of nearby places to eat and drink. Was worried when read reviews about hobos, however the odd one or two we came across couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great stay at the Citizen Hotel in Sacramento. This hotel is in a historic building within walking distance of the Capitol and City Hall. While the hotel itself is modern the decor is done in a traditional federal style with humorous nods to the quirks of politics. The staff was all exceptionally welcoming and attentive. The room was lovely with nice furnishings and bathroom accommodations.

We were touring the capital and historic districts so this was an ideal place in both setting and location. The Grange Restaurant is part of the hotel and we found it to be the best meal of our trip with its farm to table menu and excellent wait staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#9 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;