We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Rhapsody
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very nice hotel. Great staff. Great, well-appointed room. We highly recommend it. This is a classy, old-school hotel. We decided to stay here so we wouldn't have to drive home after a special party downtown.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms facing 10th Street (east side) on a Saturday night. The club across the street didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    180
    47
    15
    7
See reviews for
66
169
41
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. We were given a 14th floor room and bar credit as it was my husbands birthday which was much appreciated and a nice gesture. Hotel is beautiful inside and out. Rooms our well equipped and perfect in size for us but I can see why some might say they are small by US standards . Walls are thin and can be a tad noisy but ear plugs are provided not helped though by corridor vacuuming at 8am !! Valet service excellent prompt, helpful. Bathroom amenities good. Restaurant and bar always busy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Favignana, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I really enjoued my recent stay at the Citizen Hotel Though I was there on business the employees there made me feel at home. Leena a nice young lady from the South really puts on the charm. A true Southern Belle she's very inviting and listens to your concerns and should you have a problem Leena immediately takes action. If/ when you stay at the Citizen stop by Grange and enjoy all of there farm to table delights

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if Fri/Sat away from 10th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I tend to travel a lot and so I'm always searching for quaint new, hip and out of the norm hotels. This place by far exceeds my expectations. The staff is one of the friendliest and most professional I've encountered during my travels. They train and teach them very well in regards of customer service! The interior had me gawking. The library-esque lobby, the political themed rooms and the soaking tub had me sold from the very beginning. The rooms are small (my suite was average sized), but what it makes up for size is the comfortable bed and relaxing soaking tub. The location was perfect. Right across from the park, lots of drinking and eating options. And most importantly, Starbucks is across the park from the hotel (lol). I have not one complaint of this hotel. I recommend this hotel to business, friend, couple and solo travelers. It might be a bit small for a family. Will definitely be coming back to this hotel on my next trip to Sacramento! Thank you for the wonderful hospitality!!

Room Tip: The soaking tubs are huge and make you want to stay in them forever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. The first time here I had forgotten my charger. The staff bent over backwards to help me. Finally, a manager leant me his personal charger. The second time here, we brought out Schnauzer because they are pet friendly. They treated us fabulously NO stinky room "reserved" for pet owners. We had a great room with a view, doggie treats, first class treatment. We are also JOIE de Vivre members and love how we are treated. I highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Found this great hotel for a 2-nite layover for a business trip - super nice hotel with some great styling, cool designs and cozy rooms. Great bar and restaurant area with super nice service, great cocktails and good food. Highly recommendable hotel. If ever to visit Sacramento again this is my hotel.......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Love this hotel. I have stayed here twice, once for business and once for pleasure. This past weekend was amazing. Joe at the front desk was extremely helpful and the bartenders were spot on. Super location close to great restaurants and very easy to navigate to. Accomodations are typical of a historic hotel. Smaller rooms but with charm.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.