We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in downtown Sacramento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
kc
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best hotel in downtown Sacramento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you need to stay in the downtown Sacramento, this is definitely the best choice. This boutique JDV hotel was comfortable, clean and convenient to several restaurants including a fabulous bakery (Estelle's at 901 K Street), and the Grange restaurant which is actually attached. Here is my main complaint: there is a conference center in the hotel which is in the corner on the 7th floor. We were woken up at 7 am with loud music and a speaker who was trying to rev up sales at a company sales meeting. Our room was actually shaking from the noise. I called the front desk who said they weren't supposed to start until later. I finally went down to the meeting and found them "practicing". So, I would recommend that you request to be away from the loud areas of the hotel (there is also a night club across the street).

Room Tip: Away from loud areas, especially the 7th floor conference center
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    192
    50
    16
    8
See reviews for
71
180
43
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downieville, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at The Citizen Hotel for business, which got me a government rate of $95 ... so it was a very good rate. I stayed on the 11th floor and had two very huge windows that looked out onto J Street. The room was smaller, but the bathroom was huge. VERY comfy beds!
This is a Joie de Vivre property in which you can join the Joy of Life Club. Most of the time you can upgrade your room if there is availability and I got free WiFi, which they do charge for normally.
Hotel was in a great location for the training class I attended. Close to shopping and dining too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

When the government shut down we had to reorganize our trip to CA that was to include Kings canyon and Yosemite. So we decided on Lake Tahoe with a stop of from San Fran in Sacramento...and Boy oh boy we were so Happy with our choice. First off The Citizen was like a breath of fresh air...not your usual run of the mill hotel. The decor was wonderful and the slight tongue in cheek humour throughout was refreshing! Old world character with today's amenities made this Boutique Hotel stand out! Also the price was great we were there on a Friday night and the cost was comparable to a Marriott etc, if not better! There is a keurig in every room which is such a great idea. Bathroom was huge and even had a window. Bed was soooo comfortable and again the decor was a nice change.
They have a great restaurant The Grange and Bar which was hopping. At first glance the menu looks very different and it is but the food was outstanding so need to leave the Hotel that night. Breakfast even had its own flair!
The next day we decided to go for a walk and explore a bit of Sacramento and we are very happy we did. The tree lined streets around the State Capitol were beautiful and we even made it to the Old Downtown for a wander. As always there are areas of Downtowns you don't want to go, so use your common sense and you will enjoy.
What we thought was going to be a quick stop off turned out to be a very lovely visit!

Room Tip: Book ahead at The Grange...gets very very busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I work for a county agency and was booked into this location to attend a nearby training. The location is right downtown, a few blocks from the convention center. The blocks in between on J St. are pretty dismal with lots of vacant store fronts. K St. is a better walk. The hotel itself is vey nice, clean and well-appointed. Valet was convenient without much wait. The only reason I did not give this hotel a '5', it that the room was a bit small. Loved the decor, political theme and lighting. Bed was super comfy, nice linens, very clean room. Also, the room(11th floor) was very quiet, little street noise or any sound from outside the room, adjoining, hall, etc. Room service breakfast was just ok but cocktails downstairs were yummy! I would stay there again, especially at $115/night.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better in regard to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's location is very good, right downtown and an easy walk to the convention center if you're here for business. The room as decent though they lack some of the amenities of newer hotel. For example there aren't nearly enough power outlets for the modern traveler. The desk is located directly underneath the TV which makes for difficult multi-tasking (maybe this is a good thing). Bathroom is OK a bit on the small side and it's only a walk-in shower no bathtub, if you care about that sort of thing. The walls are also a bit thin as I can hear pretty much everything my neighbor does.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Overbooked with weddings, thus unable to attend to the needs of the individual guest. The only good thing about the Hotel is Grange Manager, Mona Hira. She defines the meaning of gracious and authentic hospitality.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The penultimate stop on our odyssey from Seattle to San Francisco and only a one night stop, but long enough to get a feel for this lovely hotel. Very impressive from the outside as well. Centrally located it was easy to find as we drove off the I5, near the state capital building which is well worth a visit. Friendly and efficient check in and they gave us a map of the area which was useful. Our room was very good, another large room with a dual aspect and massive TV to watch the baseball. Lovely large bathroom which was well stocked with toiletries. We had a drink in the bar which was good, sitting at the counter. We didn’t eat at the hotel but there was a pretty good place to eat in the evening and have breakfast just around the corner. You have to pay for them to park your car, but we were told we could park for free outside up until 8am. Another hotel in which we would have liked to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#21 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.