We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. I'd stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Summer Weekends
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. I'd stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's location is very good, right downtown and an easy walk to the convention center if you're here for business. The room as decent though they lack some of the amenities of newer hotel. For example there aren't nearly enough power outlets for the modern traveler. The desk is located directly underneath the TV which makes for difficult multi-tasking (maybe this is a good thing). Bathroom is OK a bit on the small side and it's only a walk-in shower no bathtub, if you care about that sort of thing. The walls are also a bit thin as I can hear pretty much everything my neighbor does.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    187
    48
    15
    7
See reviews for
69
174
43
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Overbooked with weddings, thus unable to attend to the needs of the individual guest. The only good thing about the Hotel is Grange Manager, Mona Hira. She defines the meaning of gracious and authentic hospitality.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The penultimate stop on our odyssey from Seattle to San Francisco and only a one night stop, but long enough to get a feel for this lovely hotel. Very impressive from the outside as well. Centrally located it was easy to find as we drove off the I5, near the state capital building which is well worth a visit. Friendly and efficient check in and they gave us a map of the area which was useful. Our room was very good, another large room with a dual aspect and massive TV to watch the baseball. Lovely large bathroom which was well stocked with toiletries. We had a drink in the bar which was good, sitting at the counter. We didn’t eat at the hotel but there was a pretty good place to eat in the evening and have breakfast just around the corner. You have to pay for them to park your car, but we were told we could park for free outside up until 8am. Another hotel in which we would have liked to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel would have gotten a three, possibly a four, for its theme, size of room and cost, but the surrounding neighborhood is atrocious. Dirty streets, urine soaked doorways, poor lighting and boarded up buildings you have to traverse if you walk to a restaurant, which we did. The nearby restaurants are good to excellent, but walking the two or three blocks in the dark is horrible. The hotel's restaurant is pricey. The City of Sacramento should be ashamed of itself in the obvious lack of care for this section of their town from this hotel south and east of it. A slum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in downtown. Old world charm with modern amenities. Convenient for meetings, yet comfortable for rest and relaxation. This is not my first visit and will not be my last. I would recommend the Citizen for business or pleasure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco,ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Citizen is part of the Joie de Vivre Hotel Group which almost guarantees a great property and excellent service.
This hotel in downtown Sacramento is a few blocks from the Capitol building and it is located right across from a tree lined park. There is a wonderful restaurant on site called Grange which also has a nice bar area and food and drinks are excellent.
There are also many fun bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room size differ from smallish but very well appointed to larger rooms with very large bathrooms. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Vagabond Executive 5 blocks away has bigger rooms, better beds, fridge and microwave, table and chairs, is quieter and doesn't charge for parking, WiFi or breakfast. By the time you have added all these add-ons, Vagabond is probably << 1/3rd the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#5 of 83 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 83 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.