We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rough Neighborhood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Rough Neighborhood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel would have gotten a three, possibly a four, for its theme, size of room and cost, but the surrounding neighborhood is atrocious. Dirty streets, urine soaked doorways, poor lighting and boarded up buildings you have to traverse if you walk to a restaurant, which we did. The nearby restaurants are good to excellent, but walking the two or three blocks in the dark is horrible. The hotel's restaurant is pricey. The City of Sacramento should be ashamed of itself in the obvious lack of care for this section of their town from this hotel south and east of it. A slum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    192
    50
    16
    8
See reviews for
71
180
43
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in downtown. Old world charm with modern amenities. Convenient for meetings, yet comfortable for rest and relaxation. This is not my first visit and will not be my last. I would recommend the Citizen for business or pleasure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco,ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Citizen is part of the Joie de Vivre Hotel Group which almost guarantees a great property and excellent service.
This hotel in downtown Sacramento is a few blocks from the Capitol building and it is located right across from a tree lined park. There is a wonderful restaurant on site called Grange which also has a nice bar area and food and drinks are excellent.
There are also many fun bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room size differ from smallish but very well appointed to larger rooms with very large bathrooms. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Vagabond Executive 5 blocks away has bigger rooms, better beds, fridge and microwave, table and chairs, is quieter and doesn't charge for parking, WiFi or breakfast. By the time you have added all these add-ons, Vagabond is probably << 1/3rd the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

On a business trip to Sacramento decided to forego staying at the Hyatt or Sheraton and tried the Citizen. It was a superb choice. The hotel is conveniently located near the Capitol and a few short blocks from the Convention Center. It is smaller, more personal and not as hectic as the bigger nearby hotels. The room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable. All of the artwork in the hotel celebrates citizen activism and grassroots democracy, which is fun. The restaurant on site, Grange, is spectacular. The fitness center needs some work; I opted to take a river run instead, and access to the trail was an easy 5 minute run from the hotel. Staff was very friendly. This will be my go-to hotel in Sacramento.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful décor and walk in tile shower make this one of my favorite hotels. We stayed last evening attending a wedding at the Sacramento Ballroom. Perfect location for everything downtown. The room was amazing....typical of a JDV property...making you feel right at home with lots of little extras. The huge bath was one of the best we've ever had...three large high windows that brought in tons of light, walk in tile shower (two sides were a beautiful curtain, fantastic bath products, fantastic high thread count bedding. The ambiance of this hotel just makes you feel at home. The only negative would be the 5 cheese platter that we bought in the bar for $30.00. More decorative than cheese. Thinking we could feed 4 people but really just right for 2 which seems a little steep for that price as an appetizer... but I have to say it was still delicious. Love, love, love this place. You can never go wrong with a Joie de Vivre property!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1214 with a beautiful view of the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was origianlly to stay at the Hyatt in downtown Sacramento but when that didn't work out I found the Citizen Hotel by looking on Trip Advisor. It was the highest rated hotel in the downtown Sacramento area and I concur. The hotel is older - but completely upgraded in grand fashion. They really play off the state level politics here in Sacramento in a very fun way. I enjoyed the political cartoons as art work in the room, etc. The finishes are all very high quality. The rooms are quiet and the linens, washrooms, etc are all very (very) nice. I enjoyed this stay a lot. As stated by other reviewers - the staff was excellent (which wasn't my experience at the Hyatt).

Room Tip: It is on a busy street so the higher up in the hotel will result in a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#20 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.