We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rough Neighborhood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double the Fun
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Rough Neighborhood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel would have gotten a three, possibly a four, for its theme, size of room and cost, but the surrounding neighborhood is atrocious. Dirty streets, urine soaked doorways, poor lighting and boarded up buildings you have to traverse if you walk to a restaurant, which we did. The nearby restaurants are good to excellent, but walking the two or three blocks in the dark is horrible. The hotel's restaurant is pricey. The City of Sacramento should be ashamed of itself in the obvious lack of care for this section of their town from this hotel south and east of it. A slum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    157
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
51
131
36
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in downtown. Old world charm with modern amenities. Convenient for meetings, yet comfortable for rest and relaxation. This is not my first visit and will not be my last. I would recommend the Citizen for business or pleasure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco,ca
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Citizen is part of the Joie de Vivre Hotel Group which almost guarantees a great property and excellent service.
This hotel in downtown Sacramento is a few blocks from the Capitol building and it is located right across from a tree lined park. There is a wonderful restaurant on site called Grange which also has a nice bar area and food and drinks are excellent.
There are also many fun bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room size differ from smallish but very well appointed to larger rooms with very large bathrooms. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Vagabond Executive 5 blocks away has bigger rooms, better beds, fridge and microwave, table and chairs, is quieter and doesn't charge for parking, WiFi or breakfast. By the time you have added all these add-ons, Vagabond is probably << 1/3rd the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

On a business trip to Sacramento decided to forego staying at the Hyatt or Sheraton and tried the Citizen. It was a superb choice. The hotel is conveniently located near the Capitol and a few short blocks from the Convention Center. It is smaller, more personal and not as hectic as the bigger nearby hotels. The room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable. All of the artwork in the hotel celebrates citizen activism and grassroots democracy, which is fun. The restaurant on site, Grange, is spectacular. The fitness center needs some work; I opted to take a river run instead, and access to the trail was an easy 5 minute run from the hotel. Staff was very friendly. This will be my go-to hotel in Sacramento.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful décor and walk in tile shower make this one of my favorite hotels. We stayed last evening attending a wedding at the Sacramento Ballroom. Perfect location for everything downtown. The room was amazing....typical of a JDV property...making you feel right at home with lots of little extras. The huge bath was one of the best we've ever had...three large high windows that brought in tons of light, walk in tile shower (two sides were a beautiful curtain, fantastic bath products, fantastic high thread count bedding. The ambiance of this hotel just makes you feel at home. The only negative would be the 5 cheese platter that we bought in the bar for $30.00. More decorative than cheese. Thinking we could feed 4 people but really just right for 2 which seems a little steep for that price as an appetizer... but I have to say it was still delicious. Love, love, love this place. You can never go wrong with a Joie de Vivre property!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1214 with a beautiful view of the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was origianlly to stay at the Hyatt in downtown Sacramento but when that didn't work out I found the Citizen Hotel by looking on Trip Advisor. It was the highest rated hotel in the downtown Sacramento area and I concur. The hotel is older - but completely upgraded in grand fashion. They really play off the state level politics here in Sacramento in a very fun way. I enjoyed the political cartoons as art work in the room, etc. The finishes are all very high quality. The rooms are quiet and the linens, washrooms, etc are all very (very) nice. I enjoyed this stay a lot. As stated by other reviewers - the staff was excellent (which wasn't my experience at the Hyatt).

Room Tip: It is on a busy street so the higher up in the hotel will result in a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.