We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Take the Trip & Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Sacramento
Nevada City
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Vagabond Executive 5 blocks away has bigger rooms, better beds, fridge and microwave, table and chairs, is quieter and doesn't charge for parking, WiFi or breakfast. By the time you have added all these add-ons, Vagabond is probably << 1/3rd the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    134
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
113
34
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

On a business trip to Sacramento decided to forego staying at the Hyatt or Sheraton and tried the Citizen. It was a superb choice. The hotel is conveniently located near the Capitol and a few short blocks from the Convention Center. It is smaller, more personal and not as hectic as the bigger nearby hotels. The room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable. All of the artwork in the hotel celebrates citizen activism and grassroots democracy, which is fun. The restaurant on site, Grange, is spectacular. The fitness center needs some work; I opted to take a river run instead, and access to the trail was an easy 5 minute run from the hotel. Staff was very friendly. This will be my go-to hotel in Sacramento.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful décor and walk in tile shower make this one of my favorite hotels. We stayed last evening attending a wedding at the Sacramento Ballroom. Perfect location for everything downtown. The room was amazing....typical of a JDV property...making you feel right at home with lots of little extras. The huge bath was one of the best we've ever had...three large high windows that brought in tons of light, walk in tile shower (two sides were a beautiful curtain, fantastic bath products, fantastic high thread count bedding. The ambiance of this hotel just makes you feel at home. The only negative would be the 5 cheese platter that we bought in the bar for $30.00. More decorative than cheese. Thinking we could feed 4 people but really just right for 2 which seems a little steep for that price as an appetizer... but I have to say it was still delicious. Love, love, love this place. You can never go wrong with a Joie de Vivre property!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1214 with a beautiful view of the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was origianlly to stay at the Hyatt in downtown Sacramento but when that didn't work out I found the Citizen Hotel by looking on Trip Advisor. It was the highest rated hotel in the downtown Sacramento area and I concur. The hotel is older - but completely upgraded in grand fashion. They really play off the state level politics here in Sacramento in a very fun way. I enjoyed the political cartoons as art work in the room, etc. The finishes are all very high quality. The rooms are quiet and the linens, washrooms, etc are all very (very) nice. I enjoyed this stay a lot. As stated by other reviewers - the staff was excellent (which wasn't my experience at the Hyatt).

Room Tip: It is on a busy street so the higher up in the hotel will result in a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was my third stay at this great little hotel. It’s situated right in the heart of Sacramento, within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, the Capital etc etc. Staff is amazing, ambience incredible and the rooms have really nice little extras to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: I go high so the street noise is minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was in Sacramento for a Medical Marijuana Lobby Day and stayed at the Citizen where the main conference and training was conducted. The room was so sweet with lots of original art deco touches. Subway tiles in the bathroom, wide striped wall paper and beds that are just heavenly! The hotel is across from a sweet little park and just around the corner from the capitol. An excellent choice if you've got business in Sac!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at The Citizen Hotel for a few days while attending a meeting in Sacramento and was very pleased. I arrived at the hotel late so the restaurant was closed....the woman working at the bar gave me information about a place nearby that delivered.

Check-in, concierge, room service, restaurant/bar, cleaning service, management....they were all excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel

Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento
Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Venere, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.