We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #2 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and daughter and I stopped here on our trip between Portland, Oregon and Yosemite National Park. After a 12 hour drive our priorities were: great bathtub, quiet, luxurious room, delicious room service and a good night's sleep. The Citizen gave it all in spades! The room was beautifully appointed, the bathtub was luxuriously deep, the room service was quick and high quality, and the bed--the most comfortable I've ever slept in. In fact, I emailed the hotel to ask them what brand of mattress they used, so that I could purchase one for home. Their GM: Brent Larkin, emailed me back very quickly with all of the info I needed. Staff was also very attentive and friendly during our stay. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    153
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
50
130
36
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent anniversary here with wife and had a lovely time. Very close to a variety of restaurants, not to mention the very nice one on the bottom floor. Quiet, well designed rooms with wonderful views of the city and central valley. On clear days you can see both sides.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed here several times but this was probably the best based on the kindness and attention from the hotel staff. This morning when I asked for a side of walnuts to go with my oatmeal, the server said they didn't have any. I was content to eat my oatmeal with the dried fruit and brown sugar they came with it. However, within 2 min., the chef (A wonderful and gracious African American man whose name I didn't get) came to my table with a side of walnuts! Now it may not seem like much but when you travel for business as much as I do, it's little things like this that make it worth it. This gracious act was followed by another. As I checked out, Blaine asked about my stay and I mentioned that I have two more trips back to Sacramento and unfortunately wouldn't be able to stay here because the reservation person told me that my company's corporate rate was unavailable. Well, Blaine took care of everything and now I'll be back for both my Sept and Oct. business trips! Citizen Hotel...you rock!!

By the way....The rooms are great (love being able to open the windows for fresh air!!), great views, comfy beds, and the bathrobes are a great touch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Returned to the Citizen on a Friday night. The excellent bar/restaurant (The Grange) was packed with a kids cocktail party, so we called room service for a bottle of wine. After two messages weren't returned (10 minutes), called the front desk and a bottle of excellent Chardonnay appeared with five minutes--FREE! Very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My bed was comfy, the hallways quiet, but the gym was subpar (equipment broken) and the restaurant service average. A fine stay for a business trip to Sacramento, but I will likely try something new next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Chose The Citizen Hotel for a weekend staycation to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Loved the ambiance and decor. The room size was adequate, bathroom huge...it seemed almost equal to the size of the actual living space. This is definitely a hotel for adults wouldn't think of it as a place to stay for families with young children but teens might like the cool upscale vintage vibe. Loved the little touches we received with our getaway package, dessert and champagne waiting in the room after we returned from dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I joined the Joie de Vivre Club online for free. That gave me a free upgrade. I went early (11am) on a Friday and was able to get a 12th Floor corner King. (Jr. Suites were sold out) as others advised. . With the "summer break" discount I got all this for about $135. Neighborhood is a mix of very high rent and lower class. Got my chocolate bars and soda at the liquor store across the street, but also a delicious lemon tart at an upscale bakery/restaurant nearby. MInibar only has space for you to put in one can of soda of your own. Valet parking guys out front make you feel very welcome right from the start. Wifi is $10 if you are not a club member. I like this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner King room, 12th floor facing park. Has lots of light. Join the Joie de Vivre club online for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Loews Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.