We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Citizen makes business trips wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #2 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Citizen makes business trips wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed here several times but this was probably the best based on the kindness and attention from the hotel staff. This morning when I asked for a side of walnuts to go with my oatmeal, the server said they didn't have any. I was content to eat my oatmeal with the dried fruit and brown sugar they came with it. However, within 2 min., the chef (A wonderful and gracious African American man whose name I didn't get) came to my table with a side of walnuts! Now it may not seem like much but when you travel for business as much as I do, it's little things like this that make it worth it. This gracious act was followed by another. As I checked out, Blaine asked about my stay and I mentioned that I have two more trips back to Sacramento and unfortunately wouldn't be able to stay here because the reservation person told me that my company's corporate rate was unavailable. Well, Blaine took care of everything and now I'll be back for both my Sept and Oct. business trips! Citizen Hotel...you rock!!

By the way....The rooms are great (love being able to open the windows for fresh air!!), great views, comfy beds, and the bathrobes are a great touch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    151
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
50
127
36
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Returned to the Citizen on a Friday night. The excellent bar/restaurant (The Grange) was packed with a kids cocktail party, so we called room service for a bottle of wine. After two messages weren't returned (10 minutes), called the front desk and a bottle of excellent Chardonnay appeared with five minutes--FREE! Very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My bed was comfy, the hallways quiet, but the gym was subpar (equipment broken) and the restaurant service average. A fine stay for a business trip to Sacramento, but I will likely try something new next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Chose The Citizen Hotel for a weekend staycation to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Loved the ambiance and decor. The room size was adequate, bathroom huge...it seemed almost equal to the size of the actual living space. This is definitely a hotel for adults wouldn't think of it as a place to stay for families with young children but teens might like the cool upscale vintage vibe. Loved the little touches we received with our getaway package, dessert and champagne waiting in the room after we returned from dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I joined the Joie de Vivre Club online for free. That gave me a free upgrade. I went early (11am) on a Friday and was able to get a 12th Floor corner King. (Jr. Suites were sold out) as others advised. . With the "summer break" discount I got all this for about $135. Neighborhood is a mix of very high rent and lower class. Got my chocolate bars and soda at the liquor store across the street, but also a delicious lemon tart at an upscale bakery/restaurant nearby. MInibar only has space for you to put in one can of soda of your own. Valet parking guys out front make you feel very welcome right from the start. Wifi is $10 if you are not a club member. I like this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner King room, 12th floor facing park. Has lots of light. Join the Joie de Vivre club online for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a great hotel if you are doing a photo shoot or ghost hunting. It is not super practical for families. We were accosted by hobos as we got out of the car to check in. The hotel overlooks a hobo park on one side and a bunch of alley ways on the other. The hotel seems like a place that would be haunted, dark, old, dank! The price was similar to the Embassy Suites and did not include any of the perks like free breakfast and a good location. We were duped into staying here by friends of ours who thought we'd be impressed....NOPE! The tub is super deep and my husband almost hurt his family jewels getting in and out of it. There is a fridge full of over-priced stuff that, if moved, will be automatically charged to your room.

On the upside:The décor is very pretty. The tub would be good if you are into taking bubble baths at hotels. The bathroom overlooked the state capital, which was fun to see as I was showering.

Coming from the Embassy Suites near the river the night before, this place was a down-grade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

What a superb hotel. We really enjoyed our stay at the Citizen. We had a couple of nights visiting Sacramento which is a town with an interesting if not somewhat sad history. I think the Citizen reflects that. It was built at a time when Sacramento was really going places, having secured its role as state capital. The high rise rather grand building that houses the citizen hotel was built to reflect this new found status. Unfortunately for Sacremento gold fever and other events led to more southern cities being developed. Whilst Sacramento stood still. Therefore the citizen stands somewhat isolated, a glamourous high rise oasis surrounded by many empty shops offices. The hotel itself is well run, beautifully decorated and good value. The meal in the attached restaurant was probably the best we had in California. Local food cooked beautifully. I am not sure we will be returning to Sacramento but if we did we would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.