We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
British Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was fortunate to stay at this hotel on a business trip, and yes fortunate! What a hotel filled with history and charm, I felt like I was staying in a set decoration for the movie Clue or Sherlock Holmes would appear with pipe in hand. Exceptional service from ALL staff, food was a culinary treat in The Grange restaurant and the door woman/ men were always greeting you with a friendly hello and a smile. The location for where my conference was was walking distance, and walked a few blocks to see the state senate short cab ride to shop. It will definitely go back to the Citizen when I have more time to spend! The political quotes and cartoons throughout the hotel are a fascinating change to the sometimes boring decor at other Hotels!

Room Tip: Any room, mine face out front and overlooked the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    164
    43
    13
    6
See reviews for
61
144
37
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice hotel and good restaurant. Has some charm and well located in Sacramento. The hotel is in an older building and has been renovated, and that makes it not feel like every other hotel. They also play with the theme throughout the decor, which is a nice touch.
The restaurant is very nice, although a bit noisy. But the staff is very friendly and the food is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice rooms with nice amenities, k-coffee maker in room. I had a nice room with a view of the capital. Staff are so very nice, felt like I was being treated special. The only reason I did not give 5 stars - parking valet only at $25.00 day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Capitol view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. I was there for work/school business and couldn't have been happier. Staff was excellent and willing to meet my needs. It's location is superb, about 2 blocks outside of the Capitol. There's a lot of great eateries and coffee houses on each side of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Start with the raw material: The Citizen's early 20th-century bones are beautiful. It's a classy hotel beautifully restored and tastefully decorated with political cartoons & photos that play off Sacramento's role as state capital. My room was super-comfortable and quiet, and the in-hotel restaurant, The Grange, is a class act. Breakfast choices were healthy and well-presented. Dinner was exquisite.

Room Tip: My room was away from the street, so it was perfectly quiet. I imagine the rooms right on J Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here at The Citizen Hotel for my college graduation. I've been wanting to stay here as soon as I found out the dates of my graduation. This is the best hotel is the state capital. The room was clean, classically decorated, and very luxurious. The bathroom was huge! My favorite part of the room was being able to open up the large windows in both the bedroom and bathroom. The front desk was very courteous upon checking for both myself and for my family. It is pricey here, but worth it for my special day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so beautiful. I love that sacramento kept up this historical hotel. Its so nice to go to a classy hotel thats different from most places in tje area. And the location is great. It was central to everywhere I needed to go. Its a bit pricey, but worth the cost for excellent service and a one of a kind hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.