We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel located right in the heart of San Francisco. I found it online and it exceeded all my expectations. The decor of the hotel is very stylish, combining features of it's old character with updated touches. The rooms have lovely (what look like original) political cartoons, wonderful mattresses and great amenities in the bath. Room service food was great and we dined at the restaurant attached to the hotel, which was fabulous. A great find, all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    192
    50
    16
    8
See reviews for
71
180
43
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

When you travel for a living, you get sick of the usual faceless Hyatts, Marriotts, and Hiltons. They're all forgettable. The really special experience comes from the one-of-a-kind restored grand dames like Sacramento's Citizen Hotel. The location is excellent -- smack dab downtown, about a block from the state Capitol. It's a beautifully restored property that used to be the city's most prestigious professional office building. I'm a political junkie, so I loved that the art on the walls consisted of old political cartoons from the Sacramento Bee, and photographs of memorable moments in local history. It's a property with a terrific, quirky sense of humor. It's FUN.

The service, from the valet to the front desk to the staff at the Grange Restaurant, is close to impeccable. Best of all, the prices are insanely reasonable. Why would anyone stay anywhere else? I'm returning to Sacramento this week, and I'm heading to 926 J Street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was thinking, how much can you expect from a hotel in Sacramento? Well, hubby and I unexpectedly loved this hotel! It's somewhat olde worlde with a beautiful lobby with marble walls and olden elevator. It is as nice as any 1900's-era hotel in any city in the country. The room very large for a city hotel from this time period. The room and bathroom were spaciois and very clean and the bed was super comfy. The hotel was nicely located in the center of town and about a 20-minute walk to Old Town and the River. The Grange restaurant in the hotel was excellent, as well. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would have given 5 stars, except our bathroom mirror was dirty. Other than that, the hotel room was clean. The room was nicely decorated, it had actual character. We had a corner room, with windows that opened. Staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times and each time has been exceptional, including our most recent stay. The rooms are exquisitely decorated, have quality linens and there are wonderful in-room amenities (especially appreciate the bath soaps and Keurig coffee maker with quality coffee and tea). The double bed rooms we have stayed in are large, with huge bathrooms. The king room sizes are more varied, but even the smaller king rooms are adequate and nicely appointed. We have enjoyed views in each direction (park or capital). It's fun to read the political statements throughout the building. We enjoy dining at The Grange Restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Although the pecan butter pancakes are not on the weekend breakfast menu, ask, and they will gladly prepare them (yummy!), and in case they forget, be sure and ask for the incredibly delicious (and complimentary) breakfast breads when you order breakfast. The hotel is close to I-5 (about 1/2 mile), and within walking distance to the State Capital. All this and they are pet friendly, with no additional fee (we bring our Corgi here, where they offer a treat at check-in). It is a downtown city hotel and it's across from a park, so when we self park in the parking garage or walk our dog in the park, we stay aware, but we have never had any problems in this regard . . . and we appreciate that there always seems to be 1-2 staff in front of the hotel should we want their help for anything, including valet or bellhop services. We have always had excellent customer service from every single person who works at the Citizen. We have stayed at many different hotels in the Sacramento area and this is our absolute favorite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay at The Citizens. The room was very comfortable, the bedding luxurious. We brought our two dogs, and there is no pet fee. There is a park right across the street which made exercising the dogs very easy. The Capitol, Old Town Sacramento, and many restaurants are all walking distance from the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a place to crash on our way home and discovered this wonderful old hotel near Old Town and the Capitol. Price was right (sr discount) and so was location. Only negative is the parking: either valet ($25) or self-park on-street or nearby parking garage, which is also used by the valets. Staff is very attentive and were quick to fix a broken lamp.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#23 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.