We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
US
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel located right in the heart of San Francisco. I found it online and it exceeded all my expectations. The decor of the hotel is very stylish, combining features of it's old character with updated touches. The rooms have lovely (what look like original) political cartoons, wonderful mattresses and great amenities in the bath. Room service food was great and we dined at the restaurant attached to the hotel, which was fabulous. A great find, all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    164
    43
    13
    6
See reviews for
61
144
37
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I live in the NW, but work in California and find myself in Sacramento at least 2-3 times per year. I have stayed at many of the hotels in the city including the Hyatt and Sheraton. Since the Citizen opened, I only stay here. This is more like a boutique hotel - VOS waters in bar fridge and wine glasses provided, Keurig coffee machine, decent alcohol drinks in mini fridge, a "foodies" choice for snacks in the fridge, two bathrobes in each room, REAL hangers (and finally - a hotel that provides enough of them for your business travelers that are women), classic bathroom fixtures, a light-up make-up mirror, ear plugs, herbal brand of toiletries, etc. Rooms are quiet and spotless. Reliable wi-fi (but you have to pay). The bar and restaurant serve good food/drinks although breakfast room service doesn't start taking orders until 6:30 AM. However, the food offerings for room service (and at the restaurant) are a higher class than Hyatt or Sheraton. If you opt out of room cleaning, you get a $5 gift card to their bar and or restaurant. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

When you travel for a living, you get sick of the usual faceless Hyatts, Marriotts, and Hiltons. They're all forgettable. The really special experience comes from the one-of-a-kind restored grand dames like Sacramento's Citizen Hotel. The location is excellent -- smack dab downtown, about a block from the state Capitol. It's a beautifully restored property that used to be the city's most prestigious professional office building. I'm a political junkie, so I loved that the art on the walls consisted of old political cartoons from the Sacramento Bee, and photographs of memorable moments in local history. It's a property with a terrific, quirky sense of humor. It's FUN.

The service, from the valet to the front desk to the staff at the Grange Restaurant, is close to impeccable. Best of all, the prices are insanely reasonable. Why would anyone stay anywhere else? I'm returning to Sacramento this week, and I'm heading to 926 J Street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was thinking, how much can you expect from a hotel in Sacramento? Well, hubby and I unexpectedly loved this hotel! It's somewhat olde worlde with a beautiful lobby with marble walls and olden elevator. It is as nice as any 1900's-era hotel in any city in the country. The room very large for a city hotel from this time period. The room and bathroom were spaciois and very clean and the bed was super comfy. The hotel was nicely located in the center of town and about a 20-minute walk to Old Town and the River. The Grange restaurant in the hotel was excellent, as well. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would have given 5 stars, except our bathroom mirror was dirty. Other than that, the hotel room was clean. The room was nicely decorated, it had actual character. We had a corner room, with windows that opened. Staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times and each time has been exceptional, including our most recent stay. The rooms are exquisitely decorated, have quality linens and there are wonderful in-room amenities (especially appreciate the bath soaps and Keurig coffee maker with quality coffee and tea). The double bed rooms we have stayed in are large, with huge bathrooms. The king room sizes are more varied, but even the smaller king rooms are adequate and nicely appointed. We have enjoyed views in each direction (park or capital). It's fun to read the political statements throughout the building. We enjoy dining at The Grange Restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Although the pecan butter pancakes are not on the weekend breakfast menu, ask, and they will gladly prepare them (yummy!), and in case they forget, be sure and ask for the incredibly delicious (and complimentary) breakfast breads when you order breakfast. The hotel is close to I-5 (about 1/2 mile), and within walking distance to the State Capital. All this and they are pet friendly, with no additional fee (we bring our Corgi here, where they offer a treat at check-in). It is a downtown city hotel and it's across from a park, so when we self park in the parking garage or walk our dog in the park, we stay aware, but we have never had any problems in this regard . . . and we appreciate that there always seems to be 1-2 staff in front of the hotel should we want their help for anything, including valet or bellhop services. We have always had excellent customer service from every single person who works at the Citizen. We have stayed at many different hotels in the Sacramento area and this is our absolute favorite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay at The Citizens. The room was very comfortable, the bedding luxurious. We brought our two dogs, and there is no pet fee. There is a park right across the street which made exercising the dogs very easy. The Capitol, Old Town Sacramento, and many restaurants are all walking distance from the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.