We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to perfect as it gets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“As close to perfect as it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

There is a real danger in using too many superlatives to describe a hotel experience. But there's no way around it - my 8 day stay at the Citizen Hotel was as close to perfect as humanly possible!

First impressions are paramount - and the smiling, welcoming staff at the front door set the tone. The front desk staff greeted each arrival with a genuine smile and a speedy and efficient check in. The room (i had an upgraded junior suite) was stylishly decorated and comfortable. There was not one encounter from the man sweeping the front sidewalk to the housekeeping staff to the wait staff passing appetizers at the reception that was not friendly and personable. Everyone greets you with a smile and a "good morning/afternoon/evening".

I usually tip the housekeeping staff on a daily basis and do leave a note ("for housekeeper, thank you") so there is no misunderstanding that the dollar bills are meant for them. This is the FIRST time a housekeeper has actually written a thank you note in reply!

The air conditioning is soundless and the beautifully manicured Cesar Chavez Park is a lovely view out of the windows on the front of the hotel. Some rooms have a view of the State Capital building, others a beautiful cathedral.

There are a couple of things that you should know if you plan to stay at the Citizen: first of all, none of the rooms have dressers. There is a free standing closet holding the coffeemaker, ice bucket, room safe, etc. that i was able to rearrange to use for clothes storage. I inquired at the front desk as to the lack of a dresser and she smiled warmly and said "we're a boutique hotel" but her follow up grin told me that she found that response to be as ridiculous as i did. We both just laughed at the shared joke.

The next thing you should know about the room is that some of them have a very tall "soaker/spa" type of tub. While i found this to be absolutely delightful at the end of a long conference day, some of our older attendees were unable to get in and out of the tub due to the height and ended up changing to rooms with shower only or standard tubs. Again, the staff was wonderfully accommodating.

About the neighborhood: the hotel sits on the corner of J Street and 10th and that corner is immaculately clean and well secured. However, it is a little off-putting to pass so many bail bond, check cashing and pawn shops to get to this little slice of paradise. There is certainly nothing that the Citizen Hotel can do about it and they patrol their property vigilantly. There are also a good number of panhandlers (not very aggressive but they do request) and homeless seem to come out at dusk in the K Street area near the Crest theater and the row of nighttime establishments. Again, they are not aggressive and since we always traveled in groups of 3 or 4 people after dark there never seemed to be any threat or feeling of danger.

As i said, these things are out of the control of the Citizen Hotel and its staff so i do not mention them as any kind of discredit to the hotel. Should i ever find myself in Sacramento again, i would not hesitate to stay at the Citizen and would recommend this hotel to friends and family without hesitation.

Thank you for a WONDERFUL stay!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Rooms are so lovely and massive bathrooms. Very modern and well decorated. Beds were lovely and comfortable. Rooms were very clean but bathroom had some areas such as the blinds and window ledge were very dirty and dusty. Lovely room ameneties, umbrella, dressing gowan, coffee maker, toileteries etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staceygibson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip during the first week of May. It's older so the layout and size (a little cramped here and there) are noticible. But I think that is what makes it unique from the other huge hotels (Hyatt and Sheraton) in the area. I love the political 'theme' of the hotel. The decor was really well done and the customer service is great. My room was a little small, but very comfortable. LOVE that they give you a robe (not to take home of course)!! The only reason I didn't give it an Excellent rating was because the shower was not a tub and the shower curtain kept floating around while I was taking a shower and the parking was a little steep (but to be expected in a city like that). The valet service did a wonderful job. The Grange restaurant is also terrific. A little steep on the price but the food was excellent! Overall, this is a very unique hotel with great customer service. I highly recommend it for business or pleasure as it's just a short walk from the Capital and close to all of the attractions downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uclachexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in the Citizen Hotel over the Memorial and Jazz Festival Weekend. We had the benefit of very little traffic and on-street parking was free all weekend. I am sure the traffic situation would not be so easy during weekdays. The hotel has a valet parking service if you are unable to find the parking lot just across the road from the hotel. The hotel is situated within comfortable walking distance of the Capital Building, Old Sacramento and is ideal for tourists and business guests. The Citizen Hotel public areas and restuarant are decorated and furnished to a high standard in a modern and unique style. Our bedroom was furnished and decorated to a high standard, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped. We did not experience excessive noise from outside or inside the hotel and slept well on all three nights. We took breakfast in the hotel restaurant and found the service to be very good. The breakfast menu was varied, showed imagination and above all the food was very good. If we were to return to Sacramento we would certainly stay at the Citizen Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I am an event planner and had a New Year's Eve wedding here - it was spectacular! The rooms are very trendy, but still very comfortable. Our room was on the top floor, right next to the club, and yes, it was quite loud. But it was also New Year's, so not sure if it is always like that.

This was my first time in Sacramento, and it is kind of a strange place. This hotel kind of pops up in the middle of a not-so-great part of town, at least in my opinion. The view is incredible - we could see the capital from the club, and if you have a high floor room, you will probably have a nice view from any side of the hotel.

The staff were very accommodating and especially with the rambunctious group we had. I did go out to dinner one night (hard to find time) at the restaurant downstairs, and the food was pretty good. A little pricey, but still good.

I really liked the 'old' feel of this place, but the new look. They have doormen, which you don't get a lot in California, the interior kind of takes you back to the 40s. Very cool place to hold an event.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurfBum79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is charming in many ways, and convenient, but the club noise is obnoxious. Definitely don't stay if you are coming from the east coast. You won't get any sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citizenmanagement, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Janice B

I am so sorry that the noise from outside the hotel disturbed your sleep. The club you refer to is only open Thursday through Saturday, other nights there are no noise issues. We ususally have the ability to place giuests away from that side of the building if they are noise sensitive during those nights. I apologize again your rest was disturbed and hope you will give us another chance for a good night's sleep.

Mark Mathews
managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was an exceptional experience all the way around. We checked in to a friendly, helpful staff. We had dinner at the hotel the first night. Friday night, dine downtown, wine paired meal that was a 10! Great presentation and flavors! Fresh and fabulous! Our waiter, Clark, was fantastic. The room was very nice, bright, and open with a friendly housekeeping staff. Sunday morning brunch was also excellent with, again, a wonderful staff. Mark our waiter was friendly and on the spot. The food very good. We know that we will stay at this hotel again when we return to Sacramento. Very impressed! 10

Room Tip: Although the front of the hotel overlooks the park it is on the street side. The rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountainrefuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citizenmanagement, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Mountainrefuge,

Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay. I will pass your comments onto our Grange team, they will be thrilled to hear them!

Mark Mathews
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#11 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#25 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing