We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel downtown with personality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
The Citizen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking and WiFi
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel downtown with personality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The Citizen Hotel is a really cool, modern, politically-themed boutique hotel in a historic building. The rooms and lobby are decorated beautifully and it just feels like a special place. The customer service is first class and there are lots of added amenities in the rooms. I only ate breakfast in the restaurant, but it was delightful. I was disappointed that valet parking is all that is available at $25/day, but the valet staff were efficient and friendly. The exercise room was basic but functional and the business center was well equipped. There are a few hidden fees to watch out for, but overall, it's a luxurious place to stay if you need to be downtown.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    159
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
52
133
36
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
merced
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

We traveled for fun to Sacramento and enjoyed the citizen hotel. Our room was a corner room with pleanty of space. The staff was very informative and helped plan our outings to the American river bike trail, old sac, and the state capital. The staff at the citizen put in extra effort and really took care of all our needs. We enjoyed the night life in the area and the restaurant Ten22 in old sac. We will definitely stay at the citizen again. (The suits were happy here too).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a big hotel with a boutique feel. They make all the spaces nice and cozy but not cramped instead of the huge spaces with a large chain hotel. The hotel is decorated beautifully and with being right near the capital has old political art hung up throughout. The rooms themselves are gorgeous and super comfortable. We stayed in one of the Penthouse suites on New years Eve and it was great. The connect system they have with an apple computer is great too, you can watch things on your Hulu or netflix account if you wanted to on the big screen. The bathrooms and bedroom are beautifully appointed and have everything you could dream of. We only got to stay one night and have already said we want to go back again when we have more time to enjoy it. The restaurant in the hotel is great too. There were three couples and everybody loved what they got for breakfast, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Get a penthouse if you can they have a wonderful balcony that overlooks the capital building and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I chose this hotel based on closeness to downtown and the good reviews on this site. I was not disapointed. A bellman walked down the sidewalk to greet me as i left the airport shuttle. The lobby was quiet and elegant. Elevators are decorated with political quotes. The room was a bit on the small side, but the bathroom was huge. I had roomservice from the Grange...delicious. Lowkey professional courteous service that left nothing to be desired. The room rate was very comparable to Holiday Inn,etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a beautifully-restored boutique hotel in an early 19th century apartment building. My only complaint is the small rooms, but that's okay. But who needs a huge room, especially if you are traveling alone. You will be pampered at this well-appointed downtown hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get an upper story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I'll admit, last time I reviewed this hotel, I rated it poorly due to a billing issue (March 2010). The manager called me and apologized, and the policy has since changed.

I stayed here 2 weeks ago, and was given room 1322. Wow. I could have had a party in my bathroom. The bedroom, as usual, was comfortable, sumptuous, intimate, and cozy. Staff is pleasant and top-notch. If I didn't need to get home for a meeting, I would have stayed an extra night just because it was so nice.

I can't wait to go back this week, and then again next month. I'll keep my eye on my e-mails for my "Chip's Picks" and book the Citizen whenever I have business in Sacramento.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The Citizen is a hotel we come to whenever we are in Sacramento. Like other JDV properties, it is well decorated with a distinct theme throughout-in this case, politics! It is clean, and has everything you need when here on business. The restaurant is great as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel

Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.