We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old historic mansion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sacramento International Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sacramento International Hostel to your Saves list
Sacramento International Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   925 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely old historic mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here one week while visiting my daughter who lives in a small apartment about 8blocks away . Enjoyed walking there every morning, stopping for coffee at the insight cafe.
The rooms upstairs were large and inviting, but I wanted an ensuite so that happened to be in the basement. The room was spacious , but not attractive and not totally clean. Net time I will just get a regular room with shared bath.
Overall, pleasant stay, helpful staff and great location..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
10
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I booked a one-night at the HI Sacramento. The hostel is in an excellent location, convenient to the AMTRAK/Bus stations and downtown. They have a one-time rate if you aren't a member of Hostels International, but it's pretty cheap. I arrived late but had called ahead and was quickly let in, checked in, and found my room. The room was clean, even though it was nearly full, and the bed was comfortable. I slept great and was able to check out but leave my bag free of charge while I wandered the city. I would imagine the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the facility would have been even more important had I been staying longer, but it was great to be greeted and helped by such great people. I would recommend staying here to anyone visiting Sacramento.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

It's hard to find clean, safe and economical lodging in Northern California so I was very excited to find this hostel! I travel to Sacramento often for business and always stay in one of the beautiful private rooms. It's in a lovely and historic victorian home in downtown Sacramento. As a solo female traveler I feel fairly safe staying here and wandering around close by. There are a lot of food options just down the street, and the staff are very knowledgeable. The staff are also always friendly and efficient and the check-in desk is open late.

The only downsides are that their parking lot can fill up fast so if you are arriving later in the day you may need to pay metered parking at least until 5:00pm ish. Street parking is free overnight but the meter resumes again at 8:00am. Also, they often have large groups staying there, so the breakfast area can be a bit hectic, but planning enough time in the morning will solve this problem.

Room Tip: The private rooms are roomy, and far more charming then I ever would have imagined for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had a private room. Great for one night. The location was unbeatable, The home itself was 120 years old with a really interesting story and it was beautiful. The morning coffee and bagels were good. And they had a fenced in parking area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Couldn't of asked for anything more 10 out of 10 I normally would never give a review but thought I better for this place keep up the good work guys. Alongside, Green Tortoise, Nicest hostel on the west coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed here with a group (mostly over-50s), very comfortable. The building is an 1880s mansion with original woodwork, painted ceiling in the staircase atrium, nice carpets in the downstairs living areas, an elegant feel. The kitchen is modern and well-equipped. The complimentary breakfast was better than some hostels, toast and bagels (with cream cheese), oatmeal packets, and all sorts of teas plus coffee. As other reviewers note, it's about six blocks walk from the Amtrak station and about the same to the downtown area, in a pleasant neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I am a 30 something year old that use to stay at Hostels as a backpacker while I traveled around the world. I had not stayed in a Hostel in years and figured that I would give it a try for my trip to Sacramento. It exceeded my expectations! What a great historic building and a friendly staff. It was very clean, quiet and comfortable and the other guests were very cool. The location was excellent and I will plan a trip back to visit for sure with a stay at the Sacramento HI Hostel!

Room Tip: I stayed in a private room. It was one third of a hotel and was just as nice, and the location was u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sacramento International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacramento International Hostel

Address: 925 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sacramento International Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a rare opportunity to relax in the comfortable elegance of a beautifully restored 19th century Victorian mansion, one of California's best travel deals and America's most unique hostel. The 1885 mansion features lavish sitting rooms, stained glass skylights, elegantly carved stairways, and chandeliers, plus amenities including a fully equipped guest kitchen, game room, library, outdoor patio, Internet access, and on-site laundry and parking. Located near the Capitol. Private and shared rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sacramento International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacramento International Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacramento International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.