We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next Best Thing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California State Railroad Museum

California State Railroad Museum
111 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
916 445 6645
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 92 attractions in Sacramento
Type: Specialty Museums, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: North America's largest railroad museum draws more than 500,000 train enthusiasts annually.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Winters, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Next Best Thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Aa a child, I was privileged to visit a Southern Pacific rail yard. This is definitely the next best thing! We took our grandchildren who were fascinated, but the adults found the outing just as exciting. It's a wonderful hands-on museum, so we all enjoyed climbing on engines to play engineer and walking through cars such as those for dining and sleeping. Does anyone but me remember the thrill of sleeping in a Pullman berth?

The museum is vast, and one should probably allow at least 90 minutes for a visit. It is possible to take a guided tour or to visit self-guided, with helpful docents stationed throughout.

Our family was not as excited about the toy train collection, but we do have a layout at home that may have dampened the enthusiasm. However, the models pale in comparison to all the full-sized, beautifully restored, cars and engines. There is a nice shop on the premises where once can purchase interesting books and posters, as well as train-related items.

Located in the tourist center of Old Sacramento, this museum is close to numerous reasonably priced family restaurants. You may also want to book an actual train excursion that leaves from a nearby location.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    124
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must see for all visitors to Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a must see for anyone visiting Sacramento, even if you are not "into" trains. It's a great hands on history lesson with tours about the origins of train development and travel in the Western U.S. There is a large collection of restored trains, Pullman cars, postal cars, and a toy train collection upstairs. Great for families and everyone else too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Gem of Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wow! This museum is incredible. The displays are well done and the trains are first rate. I honestly think we enjoy going more than the kids! Plan on 60 quick minutes or 90 minutes to do some of the reading / learning. You can't do much better if you are visiting the Sacramento area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent museum, but the movie needs work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was actually my fourth or fifth trip to the museum, and it continues to impress. The exhibits are really extraordinary. My personal favorite is the cab-forward steam locomotive, with is truly awesome. They've opened up the cab for display as well, so you can sit in the engineer's seat and get a real feel for what it was like to drive this monster! The rocking 1930's Pullman car is also a real treat. For kids of all ages, the Lionel and Buddy L toy train exhibit on the second floor is incredible!!

The only negative comment I could make is about the movie. It's so California-politically-correct it's almost laughable. It's also due for a remake, since it's the same one they've been showing for many, many years.

That aside, this is a really great museum for the entire family. And as one other reviewer said - plan on setting aside plenty of time. There's a lot to see!!!

Highly educational, and highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum for any train enthusiast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have visited this museum at least half a dozen times in the past, and I must say each time I learn something new here. What is great about this museum is its knowledgeable docents who would patiently spend time with visitors to tell about the history behind the many exhibits. There is no doubt all of the exhibits and artifacts are wonderful to look at and experience, but to get a deeper level of appreciation you would really need to have a docent tell you more about them.

My recommendation when you visit the museum is to give yourself at least 2-3 hours to experience everything. Guided tours are given several times a day, so make sure to take advantage of one. Ask the docents to tell you about the exhibits, if you'd like to learn more about them. This is a great museum for kids also (we have 4 and 7 year olds), as there's a giant model train display area, as well as a play area with lots of Thomas and Chugginton sets.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California State Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.