We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Railroad Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California State Railroad Museum

California State Railroad Museum
111 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
916-323-9280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 99 Attractions in Sacramento
Type: Specialty Museums, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: North America's largest railroad museum draws more than 500,000 train enthusiasts annually.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Fantastic Railroad Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been to several railroad museums and this has to rank as the best so far. Exhibits are well presented and cover the history of railroads supporting the gold rush and the transcontinental link. A number of rail cars you can enter.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    155
    28
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This needs time to savour - don't arrive late in the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We only had an hour but it was still good to visit here. See the movie to start as it is excellent. The huge exhibits are truly magnificent and every bit as impressive as you expect - maybe even a bit bigger! There is every effort to evoke the whole experience of the railroad and the car which 'moves' on the rails is part of that. Staff friendly and helpful and the volunteer we talked to looked every part like 'Casey Jones'. Would recommend this attraction. Good shop as well. Well done to all involved in keeping this attraction going.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great area attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I learned a lot of history during this visit to Sacramento. There are tours of old train cars, etc. I would highly recommend taking school age children here...as well as old guys like myself.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was truly surprised by how much I enjoyed the museum. I knew my five year old son would be thrilled, but I didn't know that I would be. It is a very comprehensive and interactive museum and it's not just for train buffs. We will definitely be back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“See the movie first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We got there just as the movie was about to start which was good - told about how the Western terminus of the transcontinental railroad was determined and financed as well as other things. Afterwards, we got a tour of the museum - also worth it. Once the tour was over, we walked the museum on our own. Kids would like the model trains.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California State Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.