We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California State Railroad Museum

California State Railroad Museum
111 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
916-323-9280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 127 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: North America's largest railroad museum draws more than 500,000 train enthusiasts annually.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Padstow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We travelled from England and made sure we paid a visit to this place before we picked up the California Zephyr over the Rockies! Gives you a real insight into the challenges they faced to build the railroad and the stock they have in there was amazing and well presented!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,067
    228
    34
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A great train museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place was awsome! A definate place to visit while in Sacramento. It is not just for kids. It had everything from many old train engines, to a whole floor of toy trains and set ups. The train car displays brought back many memories. A must see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like choo choos, you'll love this!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great place if you love trains....and even if you don't. The museum is set up to be interactive. You get to touch and enter many trains. The volunteers there are wonderful. They're all very knowledgable regarding the history of railroads and trains.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just cool to see once but I have had to go there so many times it almost puts me to sleep now. Nothing new to ever see in here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Railroad memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A great place to take the kids and experience the past of the railroad. It's informative and interactive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California State Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.