We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Railroad Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California State Railroad Museum

California State Railroad Museum
111 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
916-323-9280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 176 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: North America's largest railroad museum draws more than 500,000 train enthusiasts annually.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Railroad Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is definitely a great place to go. I love the Railroad Museum and usually take any company from out of town to the Railroad Museum. A must see. I never tire of going.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,013
    211
    33
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuevo, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must for train buffs and children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The railroad history of California is displayed with well restored engines and cars from a bygone era. Also, of great interest to the kids is the toy train collection and the hands on area. The gift shop is well stocked but they do not validate parking so stop across the street at the Candy Store and buy $5.00 worth of good candy and get a $5.00 parking coupon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great interactive museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Definitely a highlight of any trip to Sacramento. The museum contains a good number of engines from the golden age of the railways, all in immaculate condition. My kids loved seeing these machines up close - as did I. A particular highlight is the walkthrough sleeping and dining cars.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun place for kids as well as adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were a big group of 10-15 families with kids. Kids as well as adults had a good time here. It was fun to see so many different types of engines. Loved the spirit of senior volunteers who are more than willing to provide info about the locomotives. They also encourage you to watch the short movie & join the tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see when in Old Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm a railroad buff from when I was a child. I found this to be fun and educational look at the history of railroading.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California State Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.