We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California History Presented at it's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California State Railroad Museum

California State Railroad Museum
111 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
916-323-9280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 171 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: North America's largest railroad museum draws more than 500,000 train enthusiasts annually.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“California History Presented at it's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Amazing display of California RR history. Tells the whole story of the building of the RR through the Sierra Nevada Mountains in the 1800's. The displays are great. If you like trains, you will go nuts for this place. Very cool building too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    191
    33
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“History on a Platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Here is a great and unexpected treat. The Rail Road Museum has done an incredible an well thought out job of presenting history. It was a little hard to find (even with a GPS) but the confusion evaporated once we saw the building. The outside does not tell you much about what you will find when you gain entrance. The space is huge and the number of displays and the years covered is perfect, or as near to perfect as one can get. The store is also helpful in bringing the experience to life.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Riveting, to my surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was just trying to give the kids a cultural experience, but I ended up completely fascinated. What a treasure trove of information and memorabilia from an era that literally opened up the United States in a way that was unprecedented. Lincoln did not live to see the railroad he helped plan, but he was in on the planning sessions. This is a must-see, in my opinion.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This museum was a great surprise for me. I went there only as a company of my son, but I was absolutely amazed. You can feel everywhere the nostalgia of first travellers and fancy trains. Great place for kids, very friendly staff, a lot of interactive activities. Really worth the money!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Railroad History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Enjoyed the guided tour and the walk through the passenger cars. Some interesting engines here, mostly inside, so it's a good rainy day activity too. Worth 2-3 hours here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California State Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.