We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Sacramento

Old Sacramento
2nd St btwn 1st & Capitol Mall, Sacramento, CA 95814
916 808-7059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 171 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic area of restored buildings, museums and novelty shops brings life to the Sacramento waterfront.
Sacramento, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

So everyone who visits Old Sacramento HAS to hit Evangaline's - THE funkiest store you'll ever see!!

Enjoy the restaurants.. various shops... And the river walk and view!!

Easily one of the most clean, upscale old towns I've seen! And I'd not think this if I hadn't been there, but the Railroad Museum is very cool!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    429
    206
    35
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lot of fun knowing about the historical connection and the Pony Express connection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Felt a connection to the old west and the history of America's growth westward. This is a great place for kids to feel the history involved with Old Sacramento and the American River area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Easy access from Westfield mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Because we were there just after Christmas, the area was beautifully presented in the evening with all the Christmas lights ablaze. Unfortunately we arrived later in the afternoon and by the time we reached the Oldtown, most of the attractions and stores were closed or closing. (some for the season).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A lot of homeless people hanging out and constantly bothering you. The area is pretty dirty. The restaraunts offered in the area are very good. The sweet factory candy shop is very good. Nice shops in the area as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fun for Shopping and Browsing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Fun place to bum around, shop, and eat. Next time I would love to stay at the Dalta King hotel which is an old river boat,

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Sacramento also viewed

 

Been to Old Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.