We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peju Province Winery

Peju Province Winery
8466 St. Helena Highway, Rutherford, CA
707-963-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 activities in Rutherford
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This was my second favorite winery. (Frog's Leap was my first!) Peju has a beautiful property. We loved all the flowers and statues around the property. There's also a Koi pond, although it seems way too small for such large fish! :-(

The gift shop was nice. They had a lot of pottery and pretty wine-related gifts.

The wine tasting was very nice. The woman gave us some history about the winery and the owners of the winery, which really added to the experience. The tastings were generous and we were able to get into the tasting for free, because an app (I don't recall what the name of the app is. Just look up wine tastings in the Apple store.)

Overall, this was one of our favorite wineries.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    40
    10
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Set in beautiful backdrops of mountains and vistas, this winery is perhaps our favorite in the area. They have such a Nepalese influence, and there is also appealing art displayed in the winery. Wonderful wines, waitstaff and setting!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent light red wines & merlot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been here a few times. I brought an out-of-towner friend. The ground is simple but the view from the 2nd floor is beautiful.
Their Merlots are often voted winner by experts. I like their patio wine, Provence. It's light & easy to drink. This is great for people who don't really drink wine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Wine (and dog friendly too!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

During our recent stay in the wine country my wife and I were deciding which winery's to visit by looking thru the local guide. We chose several that we knew, but I kept telling her that we needed to go to Peju. Not sure what made me feel drawn to go there, because I never heard of Peju, but after visiting Sequoia Grove we headed there. Beautiful property, grounds and art work. Our tasting host Richie was superb. He was intuitive, friendly, funny and very well educated in wines and the region. By the time we left, we felt that we had made a new friend and will keep in touch with him. Oh, The wines were fantastic too. We joined the club and ordered a case to be shipped back to Sedona.
Peju is also dog friendly. We travel everywhere with our pup Zotz and this was the first winery that he laid down, splayed out and relaxed. I guess he just felt as comfortable as we did. Can't
wait to go back next month.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wines!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited Peju during the 4th of July weekend and while they were not extremely busy we did have a 15 min wait for our tasting. Their wines are good, I was in in party of 4 and we each purchased a bottle. They charge $20.00 for a tasting of 4 wines and we were given a bonus taste of their Zinfandel, the problem I had was that we were being provided a much smaller amount than the other folks in our group even after pointing it out to the gentleman. Maybe he had a few to many glasses of their Zinfandel before his shift and therefore could not figure out how much he was pouring in each glass?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peju Province Winery also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Peju Province Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peju Province Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Peju Province Winery to your Saves list