We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mass Appeal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inglenook

Inglenook
1991 St. Helena Highway, Rutherford, CA 94573 (Formerly Rubicon Estate)
+1 707-968-1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Inglenook legacy began in 1879 when Gustave Niebaum, a Finnish sea captain, wine connoisseur and entrepreneur, came to Rutherford to build a wine estate that would rival Europe's finest. When Niebaum's grandnephew, John Daniel, Jr. inherited the chateau and vineyards in the 1930s, Inglenook had already earned international acclaim. Francis and Eleanor Coppola purchased the property in 1975 and have spent forty years reuniting the original vineyards, returning winemaking operations to the chateau, and restoring Inglenook's illustrious heritage with the help of renowned wine consultant Stephane Derenoncourt and Managing Director and Winemaker Philippe Bascaules. In honor of this estate and its historical significance, we have restored the name, Inglenook.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Mass Appeal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

When I joined the Rubicon club some 20 years ago, it always had a feel of luxury, fun and belonging, as the winery went out of its way to keep its members happy. As time went on, this level of exclusivity has been diminishing, and in the recent years, has disappeared altogether. Being a Rubicon member now gets you a treatment slightly above that of a China tourist bus pulling up, and it was certainly demonstrated in our last visit to the winery this weekend. We bought tickets to the crab feed, and just happened to get there an hour later than the 12PM time (the event went on until 2). In the years past, we would've been ushered in, given the table and food, and would feel perfectly at home there. This time, we were turned away by the manager, Mike, (never mind that they actually kept our full fees for the lunch), and not given any option to be there for even a part of the event. I swore to never come back there again, and will be giving up my membership on Monday. The guy wasn't interested in finding out that we were late because we have a 4 month old at home that doesn't follow the winery schedule, and it was the first time my wife and I actually got out of the house for a full day while leaving her with a sitter. Never mind, and thanks for the memories!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    23
    5
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A winery tour to savour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Coppolla connection makes the Inglenook winery a "must visit' for many people but it is also the home of the remarkable "Rubicon", a wine which rivals the best produced in Bordeaux. The winery tour we undertook was informative and engaging thanks to our guide, Kenton, who, remarkably, had been in the job for only a few months. He clearly knew his wines, moved our group along while not having us feel rushed, and unlike other tours we took he really seemed interested in his party.

The gardens and grounds of Inglenook are lovely and apparently reflect Mr Coppolla's love of things Parisienne. We were lucky enough to visit at the time of the grape harvest and were introduced to the Rubicon Room where grapes which go into this famous wine were being brought in to commence the fermentation process. We were given a vivid taste of the rich history of the winery back to the days of Captain Neibaum and the tour culminated in a superb tasting in one of the old vaulted cellars inside the original "chateau" building.

Some vineyard tours keep their very best wines away from the tourist visitors. Not so Inglenook, where for a modest charge you can indeed taste Rubicon alongside other wines produced in the vineyard with matched pairings of cheeses.

We visited Inglenook as one of three tours we did during our stay in Napa and this was the first of them. The experience was all that we hoped it would be and, frankly, left the others in the shade. If there is one winery to visit during a stay in the Napa region this is it. A wonderful combination of history, the movies, and an enduring passion for fine wine that has, after some false starts, been taken up by the present owners. We loved it and the only downside was that the vineyard buyers club does not export to New Zealand!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Top Drawer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Going back to a city you have visited many times, it;s hard to find something different, and this was the place we discovered on our road trip this year.
First of all the Architecture of this old 1879 chateau is a feast for your eyes, then the inside stair well, (which was designed by a set designer that Francis Ford Coppola hired) commands you attention as you walk in.
The stain glass window, the chandeliers, rugs, and the gift shop is like no other, (thanks to Eleanor Coppola).
But it was the second floor that keep my attention for the longest time, The collection of the "Magic Lantern's" they were amazing, and the Tucker Car, (I think there are only 52 of them around the world) was a dream to look at.
As you can tell by now, we don't go to Napa to drink, but sightseer and this was for sure a sight for us form the time you drive up and see the water feature, fountain and the grape vines and the house you will be hooked, but I'm sure the wines will not disappoint too...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Kept my Promise and Returned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My previous visit was the Amuse Tasting and the property was called Rubicon. This visit I took the Estate Tour and really enjoyed hearing more of the property's history, now known, once again, as Inglenook.

I took the tour on a nice, warm 70 degree October day and please heed the recommendation to wear comfortable shoes as part of this tour involves not only walking up and down hills but also uneven terrain.

The tour then moves inside with visits to the "memorabilia" and barreling areas before settling down to the wine sampling paired with cheese.

One of my favorite vineyards not only because of the great wine but also because of the rich and colorful history of the property. On a side note, the customer service--in person or via email--is top notch. I enjoy Inglenook so much that I'll return for a third visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Something special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We loved every minute of our tour at Inglenook! From Gregg our host who had a brilliant dry sense of humour, to touring the estate and then sitting down to a wonderful wine tasting(rubicon is amazing) It really was a highlight of our Napa stay. The grounds and estate are beautiful and going into the cave...the smell was divine indulgence! What I also loved about Inglenook is that there is history and the story is quite amazing and quite sad, more of a riches to rags story! You have to applaud Coppola for getting this estate winery and Name back to where it should be!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inglenook also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Inglenook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inglenook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.