We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Wines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cakebread Cellars

Cakebread Cellars
8300 St. Helena Highway, Rutherford, CA 94573
800-588-0298
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 things to do in Rutherford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This winery specializes in producing wine to go with particular types of food and sells most of its wines to restaurants throughout the world.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

When I look at some of the negative comments, I wonder if we were at another vineyard! From the moment we drove into the entrance someone met us and welcomed us and directed us to open parking. Then as we got out of our car, another person greeted, welcomed and directed us to the entrance. On entering, I noted that the tasting is done in groups, at a specific time. What a really good idea. I asked if the I could get the 2 for 1 special that was on my Winery Finder app. Without hesitation, the lady checked my credentials, and we were in for half the price. Whilst we waited for our tour, another host came up and made welcoming small talk. Then Jo arrived and introduced herself, and never forgot our names until we left. The 30 minutes we were with her, were informative and interesting. I would highly recommend Cakebread Cellars.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    66
    34
    16
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“They put us in the warehouse with the grapes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Some nice wine options but terrible experience. Took our private tasting group to a curtained area in the warehouse for our tasting. Incredibly cold and absolutely uninviting. Not worth the price to say the least. They ruined an otherwise nice day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone, Montana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Incredible tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very knowledgeable guide! Learned a great deal on how to taste and savor the wines. We preferred the white choices but our kids(adults) love the reds. Went there on their honeymoon and insisted we visit during our trip!great advice. Enjoyed it

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Winery of our Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great wine and great tour! Todd was our tour guide and he was very knowledgable and the wine was fantastic. Will be back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A hidden gem in the heart of it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Our tour guide, Nancy, made the experience what it was, but a class act winery. Exceptional wines, and we will certainly be back next time we're in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cakebread Cellars also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Oakville, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Cakebread Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cakebread Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.