We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful winery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grgich Hills Estate

Grgich Hills Estate
1829 St. Helena Highway, Rutherford, CA 94573
800-532-3057
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$194*
and up
Viator Exclusive: After-Hours Grgich Hills Winery...
Ranked #2 of 20 Activities in Rutherford
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grgich Hills Estate is an iconic Napa Valley wine estate, consistently producing world-class wines. Vintner Hall of Fame inductee Miljenko “Mike” Grgich first earned world-wide recognition when the Chardonnay he crafted won the 1976 Paris Tasting, beating the best of France. Mike then partnered with Austin Hills to open their family-owned-and-operated winery in 1977. Committed to natural winegrowing and sustainability, we farm our five estate vineyards without artificial fertilizers, pesticides or herbicides, rely on wild yeast fermentation and use our passion and art to handcraft food-friendly, balanced and elegant wines.
Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We wanted to visit Grgich Hills because we watched the movie which was the story of how the winery won the 1976 Paris Tasting. The winery is gorgeous and the wine is truly delicious.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank for your review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed not only the wine, but the winery. Thank you for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    38
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited Grgich Hills last Sunday as part of a short 3-winery tour. We paid for the more expensive of the two tasting menus and were not dissapointed. All the wines we had were of excellent quality and the quantities poured were more generous than at the other vineyards we toured. Our server (Jeff) was very entertaining and appeared very passionate about the wines. He spent 10 minutes at our table showing us a neat trick to aerate wine in the glass which we had never seen before and was happy to let us go through the menu at our own pace.

Overall, a very satisfying experience and one of the best I have had in wine country.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your review. We agree, Jeff is great and we appreciate you letting us. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Place in Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my favorite winery to visit. Matt Heuss directed us into a private room since the main tasting room was over packed. He was so fun, and was very knowledgeable which made our experience fun. My friend was non stop asking questions to him and he knew the answer to all of them. We loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeed the wine stomping outside and really made the experience fun. Would go back to this place next time we visit Napa.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for calling us your favorite place in Napa and we're very glad you enjoyed your time with Matt. The grape stomping is a popular way to enjoy harvest and we hope to see you back soon.

Cheers!
Ken Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Grgrich Hills Estate was one of our favorite tasting/tours of our week in Napa. We , first started with the tasting . Our wine educator was a man with curly red hair ( sorry I forgot his name) - He was amazing -very friendly - knowledgeable- he loves his job and looks very passionated . He easily transmitted it . We tasted several wines --Our favorite was the Chardonnay and their wine made in Croatia ( very good) - Then, was one of the reason we've been at Grgich was for the stomping !!! What a great experience, my husband and our friends went to the barrel, stomped the grapes - and then put their feet on a Tshirt with Mike Grgich on the back --What a great experience/souvenir --cost $30 person - no reservation - and they offered the stomping only in September * not sure about it - The staff, the wines, the stomping -what a great experience -don't miss it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We're glad you had a great experience and that you enjoyed Brett's tasting. And, thanks for joining us to stomp grapes and especially that you enjoyed the wines.

We hope you come back to see us.

Ken Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place is beautiful, the wine is great and the staff is so friendly. Was starting to feel down about "touristy" day i was having at the big flashy wineries. Went here and it revived my love of Napa. The staff is so friendly and the place has a great story. You must go here if it's your first time in NAPA.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for your visit and we're glad to hear you not only enjoyed the wine but the staff.

We hope to see you back soon.

Cheers!

Ken Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grgich Hills Estate also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Grgich Hills Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grgich Hills Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.