We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always enjoy this winery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grgich Hills Estate

Grgich Hills Estate
1829 St. Helena Highway, Rutherford, CA 94573
+1 800-532-3057
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Grgich Hills Estate like an insider
Top Rated
$214*
and up
Viator Exclusive: After-Hours Grgich Hills Winery...
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grgich Hills Estate is an iconic Napa Valley winery, consistently producing world-class wines. Vintner Hall of Fame inductee Miljenko "Mike" Grgich first earned world-wide recognition when the Chardonnay he crafted won the 1976 Paris Tasting, beating the best of France. Mike then partnered with Austin Hills to open their family-owned-and-operated winery in 1977. Committed to natural winegrowing and sustainability, we farm our five estate vineyards without artificial fertilizers, pesticides or herbicides, rely on wild yeast fermentation and use our passion and art to handcraft food-friendly, balanced and elegant wines.
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I always enjoy this winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Grgich produces some really good wines. I got to taste some wines for the first time. Everything was yummy. We got to meet the winery dog - a labrapoodle - beautiful white coat. The staff gave good history about the Grgich family and the estate. A must stop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    44
    12
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Starry, starry night ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a lovely evening interlude at this vineyard. It was an intimate gathering of our wine train group, our guide, and for most of the visit one very lovely member of staff.
We were then joined by a couple of extra staff members as we concluded our tour, they were also very knowledgable and fun - this was appreciated especially considering the "after hours" nature of our tour, so the end of a long day for them!

It was a particularly pretty evening in the Vineyard ... only enhanced by walking out to see the Wine Train waiting for us just outside the property. Reminded me of a scene Van Gogh would have done perfect justice to!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for the visit and we agree, the Wine Train visit in the evening is a great way to enjoy the valley. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good wine, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Grgich was a good stop on our wine tasting itinerary. The place isn't maybe as pretty as others. It is pretty dark in the tasting room. The staff made up for it by being very friendly and accommodating. The wine was really good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and we're glad you enjoyed the wine and our great team in the tasting room. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice tasting and excellent wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We made an unscheduled stop here when we found ourselves with some extra time because the guy at our rental car agency gave us a pass for a tasting here (he had some really nasty clients prior to us that took forever to get situated and this was a nice gesture to reward our patience - thanks, Thrifty!). We enjoyed learning about this winery and Mr. Grgich's role in the Paris tasting. Not surprisingly the whites are excellent but we also really enjoyed the reds and bought a few that we paired with chocolate for dessert later that evening. It's unpretentious and we were glad to "discover" it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grgich Hills Estate, tasty, beautiful and educational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We traveled to Grgich Hills Estate via the Napa Valley Wine Train, and were treated to an educational tour of how the wines were made, and a delightful tasting of their five lovely wines hosted by their guide, Mike. He made the afternoon fly by with his witty repartee and sharing his knowledge of the wine industry. We were so impressed with the story of how Mr. Grgich brought the attention of the French and the world to California wines with his award winning chardonnay! Did I mention that we actually got to meet Mr. Grgich, who is 90 years old and an absolute delight to talk with! The grounds are so beautiful and lend themselves to so many beautiful pictures. Be sure to bring your camera! Oh, and bring your credit card, because after tasting these lovely wines, you won't be leaving without them! Hope you have as much fun there as we did!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for your visit and we're glad you enjoyed the wines and got to meet Mike Grgich. He loves to meet guests and talk with them. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grgich Hills Estate also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Grgich Hills Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grgich Hills Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.