We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! STUNNING. WORTH THE PRICE. Prepare yourself for an Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Soleil to your Saves list
Auberge du Soleil
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cabernet Season Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“WOW! STUNNING. WORTH THE PRICE. Prepare yourself for an Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

I travel a great deal. This place ranks at the top of most of my lists for hotel experiences. Amazing setting, great rooms, great service, amazing location. You feel like you are in the south of France or Italy. Upgrade to a room with a view of the valley for sure. We did two days of Limo-driven wine tours in Napa. Also, worth every penny. This hotel is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Great pools, great spa, great great great restaurant with a deck that overlooks the Napa Valley. Rooms are beautiful, we had a suite with a view and I WILL go back. Napa closes early, and having a great hotel is important--this is the place to stay for a Napa wine weekend. Can't say enough good... and as you can see by my other reviews, I look for things to find fault with. At Auberge, I was amazed and found no faults. (Kinda hard to find, use a good map/GPS.) Can't afford to stay here... eat a lunch here... on deck. I had trouble giving it a 5 for value, but you get every penny worth... Rooms from $700 to $2200 per night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    26
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
246
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend and two friends, and we were floored at how beautiful the rooms were. We felt like we had a little slice of heaven. We got the suite with a living room, fireplace, large balcony/terrace and amazing mountain view. We woke up on Saturday and opened the French doors in the bedroom to watch the sun come up over the evergreens and listen to the birds. As story-book as it sounds, it is quite simply the number one best experience I have ever had in a hotel, and I travel a lot! The service is exceptional. The food is a 9 out of 10 for room service, and the beds are a dream. It really probably doesn't get better than this. If you want to feel like you TRULY experienced Napa, stay at the Auberge du Soleil. It's quite expensive, but I know I will be back. And don't miss the infinity pool - there are three hot tubs: a "Cool Spring", "Warm Spring" (the infinity pool - the BEST), and the "Hot Spring". We brought champagne flutes and the men brought cigars down to the Warm Spring after hours and we enjoyed a candle lit starry night. Breathtaking. This hotel is over-the-top luxurious and the views are out of this world.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

One of the nation's greatest resorts. The rooms, service, layout, spa, and restaurant are all outstanding. The rates were even reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I have seen some reviews here that are negative, and when you spend a lot on a hotel your expectations are high. The quality of all aspects of our stay was consistant with the price, and was among the best experiences we have had at a top-flight luxury hotel. The setting is pristine, the hillside suites are incredible. The food is worth the star, and about the best we had in Napa. We were sorry for the booming rap music in the room below ours, but when I mentioned it to the staff in short order the sound of the chirping birds returned. A hotel has to meet your budget and aspirations and no hotel is for "everyone", but this one hit our sweet spot.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

My wife and I just spent 3 nights here celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. All of our expectation were exceeded. The service was outstanding, the suite was beautiful and the view was amazing. The spa was enjoyable and well staffed, the fitness center provided all the equipment one might need and was well stocked with water and towels. Our meal at the quiet, well appointed restaurant was fantastic. The room refrigerator was stocked with drinks, wine, and snacks....all included in the room price... (it was nice not having to wrestle with you conscience over opening the $5 granola bar). We loved our stay so much, we cancelled our hotel/plans/reservation in San Francisco for our last day/night and the staff arranged for us to extend our stay at the package price. You will not be disappointed if you are looking for a luxury getaway with your loved one.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN FRANCISCO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

The rooms are so wonderfully decorated. Nice big soaking tub in the bathroom. Covered lanai thats perfect to enjoy your espresso in the mornings. We have the same espresso maker at home from William Sonoma its a nice touch but there's a lot of them to appreciate at this resort. The service was top notch. Every associate we encountered was so wonderful. The grounds are a nice surprise to explore trails with beautiful artwork. The massage was one of the best I've enjoyed. Champagne while you wait or after your massage to sip while your in the jacuzzi outside overlooking napa wineries. The food was so yummy and again service was top notch. I loved the pool VERY SEXY! A great napa get away with friends. I will be back and continue to recommend.
Jinab@comcast.net

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

This place is phenomenal. The service is top notch and the views are breath taking. The spa is unbelievable, and has gorgeous views of the valley. The rooms are very well appointed with a sitting area and balcony. The whole resort has a very relaxing, intimate atmosphere. We felt like we were the only ones there, and we stayed during the busy season!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.