We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene & perfectly Californian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Soleil to your Saves list
Auberge du Soleil
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sensation
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
GreenLeadersGold level
western US
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Serene & perfectly Californian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Everything. That's rare & it was such a perfect place to unwind & enjoy the beauty.
The beds were a sumptuous comfort after a day of wine tastings & the absolute quiet was sublime. This is a very special spot in Rutherford & it made everyday truly wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    29
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
16
265
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had brunch out on the veranda with spectacular views. Outstanding food and excellent customer service. Cynthia was wonderful and helped us pair our courses with wines. She did a perfect job! The brunch starts with a complimentary starter cocktail. I had the prosecco and my husband had the Bloody Mary - both excellent. The bread basket has a wonderful selection of bread and muffins. I chose the gnocchi with wild mushrooms as my starter. I never had gnocchi melt in my mouth before. It was unbelievable. My husband started with the Onion Tartlette with Salmon - amazing. The salmon was extremely delicate as was the creme fraiche. The tartlette did not have a strong onion flavor and all the tastes went together perfectly. I had the beef short rib - to die for - so tender as to not need a knife. My husband had the halibut - another winner - crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. It came with a mild pesto sauce that had vegetables that were cooked perfectly. To finish - the warm chocolate torte with mint ice cream was so good as was the Peanut Butter Mousse. The entire experience was a very special treat!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Being in California, you get spoiled with the beautiful weather and amazing views but Auberge takes the California experience to a whole new level. My wife and I went there for our anniversary and after being to so many other beautiful places, we were surprised to find such a gem just 2 hours from our home.

As you check in, they have small desserts in the lobby and oh WOW!!!! Those things are fantastic. The rooms offer a great view of the valley and it is so relaxing to sit in the patio and just enjoy the sunset with some wine. One thing that I really liked was the snacks and drinks in the room were complimentary and so you could enjoy the local flavors without stepping out of of your room.

The dinner and breakfast at the main restaurant was rich and flavorful, which is expected since this is a MIchelin star restaurant. Although we did not get any SPA services, they let us use the facilities and that was very nice of them.

Finally, as we were leaving, they gave us a complimentary box of the desserts since we had been raving about them all day. The pastry chef is truly exceptional (I think he has been on Food Network) and I would highly recommend combining a stay if your visiting the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Best food I have ever eaten! Some thought better than French Laundry. Decent portions and amazing wines. Service good and friendly but not over the top.they think of everything but relaxing .if you get the opportunity please go!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Early March we joined friends at Auberge for few days in Napa. They totally pampered us! The restaurant had wonderful breakfasts on the balcony overlooking the valley. We could linger with a second cappuccino watching the hot air balloons in the morning. Our room was gorgeous and very comfortable. They think of everything including a painting kit that can be delivered to your room for a little Plein Aire. The staff was friendly and helpful. Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Our room faced the valley and had gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great visit to this gorgeous property. Just a romantic long weekend getaway with my sweetie. Even thought it was under two hours drive from home, it felt like another country. We rode bikes in the wine country, ate fabulous food, swam, played tennis and generally relaxed. Husb raved about the massage in the spa. Need to make this an annual visit!

Room Tip: The newly remodeled rooms -- Biarritz 3 and 4 are glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Visited for lunch and was one of the best of my life. Food, wine, service and views were incredible. Well worth the splurge! Make sure you book outside, the views are best in the valley. Made our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.