We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over for light lunch, wine and gorgeous view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Save Saved
You added Auberge du Soleil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Auberge du Soleil
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sublime Spring in Napa
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rutherford
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Stop over for light lunch, wine and gorgeous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was told by several people that if I had the opportunity to just sit outside at the Bistro and Bar at Auberge du Soleil with a glass of wine, I had to take it. After touring Schramsburg, my group of four needed to find a place for a light lunch. We decided to do as we were told and visit Auberge. When we pulled into the driveway of the hotel, it was a tight fit. I told my husband that I had just read (within minutes of arriving to the hotel) on TA that it would be all valet parking. He rolled the window down, and I told the man we were having lunch at the Bistro (I am glad I knew the name, since I felt like I had to have a purpose for being there and wanted to seem like I knew what we were doing there). He took the keys and the car. Painless. You cannot see the hotel from the front, and now I wish I had explored it more to get the views of it from the pool area. It is stunning.
We were fortunate to get a table on the balcony within minutes (otherwise, it just wouldn't have been the same experience--inside, the bar is dark and without the amazing view). We ordered delicious house red and white wine, padron peppers (we ate these throughout Spain and now at any tapas restaurant we can get them at, and these were outstanding), french fries--yes, to go with the wine (excellent), and lightly breaded, delicious calamari. The service, view, and altogether atmosphere are all superior at Auberge du Soleil.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    23
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
10
192
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leoti, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our second time at this restaurant ...and it was as good as we remembered!!!

Our schedule was messed up by our limousine company and thankfully they were able to accommodate us for lunch ....and what a fantastic lunch it was!!

The restaurant was full and our service was still impeccable. The view is amazing!! The food fantastic!! and served in my favorite way ... giving you enough time to enjoy each course and your wine without feeling hurried.

We can't say enough nice things about the restaurant and hopefully on our next trip we will be enjoying the hotel area!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was an amazing experience, great staff, amazing service, luxurious rooms and restaurants.
It was a truly great service, we celebrated our anniversary and stayed there for 2 nights, cant wait to go back again. The staff at the hotel is constantly working to make you feel like you are royalty:)
If you are looking for an amazing experience, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Everything at this resort was done to perfection. We had a hillside suite that was beautifully appointed. Great spa massages! Dinner at the restaurant was so good we canceled another reservation to eat there again. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile


Between the setting, the facility, quality and service, the hotel is quite nearly flawless. Tucked away discreetly just up a pine-laced drive right above Rutherford's finest vineyards, the arrival experience is subtle: one is greeted by beauty rather than branded signage as in the case of the big-box chains elsewhere. The staff are alert, gracious and paying attention; name usage is from the heart rather than from a training manual; smiles are genuine and everyone right dimensional to the bussers and room
Attendants are well informed and highly anticipatory.

The rooms are magnificent, odes to cosseting thoughtfulness with an extraordinary sense of detail and precision. Every aspect of the accommodations are brilliantly thought out, clearly under the leadership of management that espouses a global sense of style and élan, fused with a sense of the locale's Bacchanalian spirit and legacy.

The food and beverage program is equally, unequivocally conceived and delivered with a grace and stateliness that one would more liken to a Bolshoi Ballet performance than an American dining room-- yet at the same time, remarkably relaxed and unpretentious.

Even the breakfast is finer in quality, originality and consistency than dinner at the finest surrounding restaurants in Napa. How many establishments for example can deliver a coffee service of such simplicity and elegance that one returns the next day just to be sure it wasn't a mere figment of one's imagination during the previous night's reverie?

Unlike a property like Meadowood up the road where generally speaking, Father Time long ago moved on, Auberge du Soleil is a legend in the making.

One of The world's best hotels, period. Bravo!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne suisse
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a wonderful property. Unbelievable service, great food, beautiful views and a fabulous spa. Central location, close to many good vineyards ( Conn Creek is just down the hill) We loved it. Hated to leave.
A full day at the spa would be decadent, but so worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the "cottages" Had a fitness center in room and hot tub on the terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Visited Auberge du Soleil as a couples trip. The room was absolutely fabulous. It's large and comfortable with a lovely private patio. The fitness facility was clean and has spacious windows and French doors to the outdoor terrance with additional equipment. The restaurant was beautiful and had a large selection of healthy food. The pool view is awesome and chairs are just luscious!! Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford
Auberge Du Soleil Hotel
Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 52 luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.