We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Soleil to your Saves list
Auberge du Soleil
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sensation
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant for brunch and it was excellent. The meal included three courses and a complimentary glass of sparkling wine created specifically for Auberge by Schramsberg. The cost for the meal was $58. We started with the poached shrimp salad which was very good. For my entree I had the Halibut and it was excellent. To finish the meal I had the sorbet trio.

The food and atmosphere here was great. I would really like to stay here when return we return. They have an extensive wine list which is available to view on an iPad at your table. Beautiful resort, excellent food, friendly staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    29
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
16
265
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here celebrating our 25th anniversary. Our room was brand new, just completed two weeks earlier (San tropez 2) it has a beautiful, private outdoor patio with outdoor shower, soaking tub, chaise lounges and a small table. The room and bathroom were spacious and graciously appointed. Drinks (including wine and a Nespresso machine)and snacks are provided in the room
Complimentary with a thoughtful and varied selection. A very nice touch. The hotel has a beautiful 24 hour fitness center that really takes advantage of the hotel's location and special view. The pool area is spectacular, but it was chilly when we were there (and the wineries were calling!) so we didn't get to enjoy it. The hotel has a fleet of Mercedes that can be borrowed on a first come first served basis. We were able to drive a fun convertible that we really enjoyed. The concierge, Sharon was very helpful and knowledgeable and really enhanced our visit. We enjoyed the fine dining restaurant and unfortunately did not have a chance to try the bistro. Breakfast was delicious and a beautiful, relaxing way to start the day. We can't wait to return. Auberge du Soleil is a splurge resort but definitely pampers its guests.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This resort is truly a paradise! Relaxing, QUITE, beautiful, comfortable, only to name a few attributes. The restaurant is delightful with amazing views of Napa valley, and wonderful food, the pool and hot tub overlook the valley as well, with a full bar and service poolside. I did not use the spa, but walked through, viewed the plunge pools, with the same beautiful view. The grounds are filled with interesting sculptures and gorgeous plant life and it makes for a magical trip, wandering through the resort's sidewalks.
rooms are big, dining table inside, and on patio, desk, lounge chairs on patios with a view of the valley. Rooms are stocked with snacks, fruit, wine, coffee, drinks, everything you could want or need. Beds are very comfortable, with fine linens. Bathrooms have large garden tubs with candles, skylights, scented oils, etc.
This is a must return resort for any couple or single who is looking for a quite, beautiful paradise in Napa wine country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We drove up to Napa for a few well deserved days sequestered, nestled in the hills of our bucolic back door. We weren't staying here, but had brunch, as well as walked around the property. All of it's awards are well deserved, and the acclaim can only be understood by being on the grounds - no photos can really do it justice. It is as relaxing and peaceful an atmosphere as I can imagine. I hesitate about the 5 stars, because for the value not one moment should be off. In this situation, I will say our server seemed professional, but vacant, distant, and robotic. We're not looking for obsequiousness, just a little interest. It's not a small event for us, so we would appreciate engagement (which was, at times, forgetful).

But never mind those dark thoughts! On to the goodies... and good they were. Outstanding house made pastries, muffins, and breads started us off, alongside a bloody mary (downed quickly, it was fine, but nothing to write home about). We moved to a couple glasses of sparkling wine, and ordered the Oysters to start. They were incredible: fresh, perfectly shucked, Wife had the white corn soup with crispy fried oyster and chervil oil. I had the most unbelievable Onion tartelette with smoked salmon, creme fraiche, and watercress. This was the highlight of the meal for me, easily. So delicate, and it just paired so well with the Carneros Brut Rose.

The Main Lobster Omelete was fluffy and in the french style, so slightly softer. It was delicious, but just as she had wished she ordered the tartelette, I was so jealous of her Duck Confit Hash with slow cooked farm eggs, mache, and red wine sauce. It was decadent, savory, and superb.

As for desserts, I am just listing them because they were all insane:

Cherokee Blackberries, Vanilla Struesel Cake, Lemon Verbena Ice Cream, Soft Meringue

Port Roasted Bing Cherry Tart, Chocolate Cremeux, Kirsch Chantilly Cream

Red Top Peaches, Mesquite Shortcakes, Pecans, Old No 7 Ice Cream

Trailside Strawberries, Sweet Coconut Cream, Angelfood, Lime, Strawberry Sorbet

Crispy Filo Wrapped Chocolate Dumplings, Tarragon Ice Cream, Arbequina Olive Oil

Wildflower Honey Glazed Apricots, Toasted Sourdough Bread Pudding, Salted Almond Ice Cream

We got the Peaches and Cherry Tart... a Sauternes and port to match. It was lovely gluttony. It's not a common place treat to end up there, but I am counting the days until we return....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
875 reviews 875 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
577 helpful votes 577 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found this little gem in the heart of Napa/Rutherford on our way back from visiting Mums, the winery. We actually did not stay there overnight, but went for a few glasses of wine at their astonishing bar located at the top of the hill. The view of the valley from up there was absolutely incredible! The staff was very polite and attentive and their house cabernet was to die for! I recommend going by there just to admire the scenery and enjoy a good glass of wine!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment we got there until the moment we left it was like paradise. The staff is friendly and attentive from checking in to departing. Rooms were beautiful. Food was outstanding. The breakfast that is included was wonderful and the free use of the Mercedes Benz cars was an extra added treat. I loved the idea of a extra treats in your room that are not added to your bill. Our fridge was stocked with water, juices, soda and beer. There was candy,nuts and even microwave popcorn! I can't say enough about this property if you want a special few days away from the rat race, it is well worth it. It is a short ride to most vineyards in the area but off the beaten track of any noise or traffic set upon a hillside. Beautiful views of the valley during your meals and even at the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is probably the nicest hotel we have ever stayed at, and we have stayed at quite a few. You truly have to be searching to find anything negative to say about Auberge. Room was incredibly comfortable, amenities in the room were unbelievable (the mini bar and snacks?!), and the staff was attentive yet unobtrusive. We used the spa and had great massages. The hot tub overlooks the Valley and adjoining vineyards---its beautiful! The fitness center is fairly small, but was never crowded when we were there. It has an open-air deck with weights, which was very cool. The pool is nice and the staff at the pool didn't miss a beat. The only negative thing I will say (again, see sentence #2) is after we had checked out we had to go back to retrieve a forgotten item and we did get a little attitude/arrogance from the hotel staff, so I can understand some of the comments in other reviews about similar experiences. This is definitely not a kid place and its a splurge, but I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.