We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Save Saved
You added Auberge du Soleil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Resort Credit + Upgrade
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rutherford
GreenLeadersGold level
manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of dining here as part of our honey moon. We had booked in advance and hadn't requested a specific table location so we were delighted when we were given a table on the terrace central to the wonderful view that cascades around. My wife had scallops for her starter and lamb for her main, whilst I had lobster to start and beef for my main. I cannot fault any of the food and can only talk of my delight. We have been fortunate to eat in some very special restaurants over the years and this tops the lot for us. Our mains were followed by the cheese menu. This was simply divine. The local rose champagne and wine choice just topped it all off and ranks as one of our best food experiences to date. The service was fantastic and very friendly. There was no hint of snobbery that can sometimes exist in fine dining establishments. Napa has a lot to offer foodies and I will definitely be making a visit here again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    23
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
11
205
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

we arrived at this hotel expecting the best, and I can now safely vouch that this is indeed among the very best hotels in the USA if not the world. Everything is perfect. The rooms, the amenities, the view, the friendliness of the staff... the food is simply outstanding. The spa is very good with staff that are truly great professionals. We will definitely come back... soon I hope!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was just an amazing resort! We were treated to 2 nights in this beautiful place by some of our customers/friends! The views from the restaurant were just amazing looking over the valley. Of course the service was just out of this world!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room at this resort! Everything was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was given a gift certificate by my children for my 70th birthday. It was a very generous gift. The place was just a little hard to find but well worth the effort. They greet you w/ a glass of wine & some snacks which you can have all afternoon. The place is situated on a hill so all rooms have a nice view from your balcony. It is not necessary to pay for an upper valley view as you have a great view from restaurant. The room is large & the bathroom is huge. Everything in your room is for you. There is wine in the frig & snacks & fruit for which there is no additional charge. They also have a program w/ Mercedes so when we were picked up to go to breakfast in the golf cart, the driver said that no one had packed the convertible yet & did I want it ( was this a trick question)? He dropped the keys on our table & after a delicious breakfast the was included in charge, we drove off to explore wine country. The help were extremely courteous & called you by name within an hour of registering. The bed was extremely comfortable & the bedding even better. There were plenty of big fluffy towels & a nice robe in room. Great place to spend some time at. There is nothing negative to say about this place.

Room Tip: all rooms are great & not necessary to spend extra for upper valley view as it gets dark & t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just went there for brunch on Sunday. The view is amazing and the Michelin rating is accurate.

The brunch is a pre-fix menu with 4 course. For 4 courses plus an alcoholic beverage (mimosa, bloody mary, champagne etc) for $58 per person... it was a great value and well worth it.

The first course is a variety of home made breads and muffins. I usually don't care for breads at restaurants but these were so soft and amazing.

As my starter I chose the Onion Tart with Smoked Salmon and my boyfriend got the tuna tartar. They were amazing but I would say my starter, the salmon was OUT OF THIS WORLD.

As my main dish I got the Duck Hash and my boyfriend got the short ribs.

As dessert we got the banana one... not sure what it is called and their famous chocolate dumplings. My boyfriend wanted to lick the plate... the melted chocolate was THAT good.

All in all - the service, the food, the ambiance - will bring me back to this spot many more times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I splurged and stayed 3 nights at Auberge Soleil for a romantic get away. It did not disappoint. Our room had a beautiful balcony with gorgeous views of the vineyards. The linens and bath products were devine. Our room had an amazing fireplace and surround sound stereo. The staff caters to your every whim. The spa is fantastic and the food is beyond excellent. New Mercedes Benz vehicles are available for the day to on site guests. It was fun tooling around the wine country in a Mercedes convertible. Everyone needs to take their significant other to the Auberge Soleil for a wonderful romantic treat. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place has beautiful views, and to me screams privacy. Spent an idyllic afternoon with my husband in our room, then had an amazing dinner with friends. The grounds are gorgeous, the pool was a great place to soak up the sun, and the staff was friendly and courteous. I will savor these memories for years to come.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.