We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Napa Valley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Soleil to your Saves list
Auberge du Soleil
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cabernet Season Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfection in Napa Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here over the holidays and it was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had! The rooms are gorgeous, the setting beautiful, and they've thought of everything! I love that everything that is in the room is already included (wine, soft drinks, beer, snacks, toiletries, intimacy kit, bubble bath, etc.) and that the things they've included are items that you'll actually use. The service was friendly and prompt. The restaurant was a great place to start your day as the food was delicious and the view amazing. The concierge arranged multiple tastings for us, made our dinner reservations, and offered to book us a car and driver. The main thing that you need to know is that this property is worth EVERY penny! We stayed at two other luxury properties during our vacation to Northern California and Auberge made them seem like Holiday Inns in comparison! I'm spoiled and will never be able to stay anywhere else in Napa from now on!

Room Tip: We stayed in Normandie 2, but I have a feeling that all of their rooms are amazing. Our room was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    26
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
15
246
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

They treat you like royalty! Not a bad thing to say about this place! Everything was perfect, right down to the cocoa covered almonds left by our bed each night! The room was perfect. The staff was beyond attentive. The location was spectacular. And the food...WOW!

Room Tip: Even the least expensive rooms felt like a castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I spent our second anniversary at Auberge in Napa and it was a little piece of heaven on earth. The setting is beautiful nestled in the hills of Napa atop a perch giving you a breath taking view of the valley in all its splendor. Truly unique. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth and professionalism. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special as we celebrated, including a chocolate cake and bottle champagne waiting for us in our suite. Our spacious suite was nothing short of spectacular with a real wood burning fireplace and a large deck and beautiful view. The bed and linens were the most comfortable resort bedding we have ever experienced. We had a delicious five course meal in the main restaurant which was paired with fantastic wines. For two people with a 10 month old baby it was the perfect getaway and only an hour and a half from San Francisco!

The Auberge properties have quickly become our favorites. If you're looking for luxury done right you can't go wrong! We will definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were here this summer & took business clients/friends for a dinner.
We sat on the terrace, which was a beautiful view.
The staff was courteous, knowledgeable, & extremely friendly.
We did the chefs tasting menu and this dining experience truly lingers in my mind as one of the most amazing dinners I've ever had. Everything was beautiful & prepared in such a way that it looked like edible art. The hotel manager came by to greet us while we were there and also came back before dinner was over to make sure that our time was enjoyable.
Magnificent food in every way, top knotch service, & a magical view!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The Auberge de Soleil setting is gorgeous nested amongst the hills of Napa Valley. Our room was beautiful and the view was breathtaking. The nicer restaurant was great and we enjoyed eating there. The more casual restaurant was not as good. Take advantage of the convertible Mercedes available. It was perfect weather to ride around with the top down. The concierge set up wine tours for us. The limo was a highlight and one of our favorite wine tastings was Kelham where we had a light lunch as well. The limo driver knew alot about the valley and we were treated very well by the wineries. The concierge also got us into the French Laundry which was an incredible experience. The only problem I had with the concierge was Molly who seemed a little put out at changes we needed to make etc. and while I understood, when I am paying this kind of money I expect perfection. I spoke to Bradley, the manager (who is wonderful!) and he was very responsive and made the situation right. Overall the weekend getaway was amazing and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This resort has one of the best settings in Napa, set on a hillside with spectacular views of the valley. Sitting on your terrace having breakfast watching the early morning passenger ballons rise over the valley is breathtaking. That breakfast was delicious, served quickly and was still warm when it arrived ....quite a distance from the kitchen. That was the great, not so great...breakfast is included in your room rate....but apparently only if you eat in the restaurant, but when I questioned the charge at checkout, they removed half the cost. There is a nice pool, spa and a wonderful sculpture garden with picnic tables tucked in discrete spots...a lovely place to bring your complimentary bottle of cab and yummy local treats like Oliver's artichoke dip and Rustic Bakery crackers. The room is spacious, outfitted with with beverages and snacks which are included. But at the room rates, $100 worth of free snacks is not exactly a give away. This resort is not new and the bathrooms and some of outside walls were showing their age in my opinion and when I shared those thoughts on the post stay survey, I was given a credit AND an apology. I will give them another try next year because of that and because every single staff person was genuinely pleasant and helpful....not the faux "how may I serve you today" I have experienced elsewhere. We had pre-thanksgiving dinner drinks and appetizers on the bar terrace, which again has superb views, the food was tasty and a good accompaniant to the generous pours of wine.....even if you do not stay here, having a drink at the bar around sunset is highly recommended. And yes, like the other Thanksgiving reviewer-we had fruit flies......but this is the wine COUNTRY.....and those thing happen. The people, the setting and the food will bring me back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Our 2012 Thanksgiving Dinner ruined by being seated at "The Terrace", a poorly heated, spartan room up very steep stairs.
Fruit flies flying around us and other guests, having to cover wine and drinking glasses with paper napkins to avoid flies falling inside. Having to swat them all night.
Untrained waiter that kept putting his arm in front of my partner's face to place a clean knife on her side or give her more bread because he was too lazy to go around her or because he did not know better.
Why were we seated upstairs instead of the main dining room? Who knows! Price was the same! Shy of $300 without wine!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.