We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel & Spectacular Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Save Saved
You added Auberge du Soleil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Resort Credit + Upgrade
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rutherford
GreenLeadersGold level
Langley City, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Hotel & Spectacular Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently had our wedding at the Auberge du Soleil, and it exceeded our expectations. The grounds were beautiful and the view was panoramic. We stayed at the hotel and the service was top notch for our entire stay. The room was perfect and the food was excellent. Best hotel we've ever stayed at and we plan to return on our anniversary!
-Daniel & Kaitlyn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    23
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
11
205
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

In celebration of our anniversary, my husband and I splurged on a stay here. My first impression was that the grounds were beautiful, the setting absolutely serene. From the moment we arrived until we left, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful; impeccably trained to cater to your every whim or indulgence just as you would expect from a french resort. When we entered our room, my heart skipped a beat...it was absolutely beautifully done in an understated elegant way with an incredible valley view and lots of privacy. Nothing here is overlooked- from a personalized mailbox, to an abundance of complimentary snacks/drinks, to the most comfortable linens and bed that I've EVER slept on! It was perfect, in fact, we only left our room to visit the beautiful pool and to indulge in a 6 course meal at the Michelin star rated hotel on site, which by the way, was divine! There is really no need to leave the property. You wont miss wine tasting off site when you're basking in your glorious sunken tub! It was a stay of a lifetime and we hope to visit again. Absurdly expensive but if you're looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway, this place definitely delivers!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a valley view -- lovely for sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We loved this place, went as client guests and would go back here in a heartbeat. Rooms were so spacious, clean and modern. The suite we were in was about 1,200 sq ft.mif you can afford it ask for a suite. The view of the valley is breathtaking, they say you can see hot air balloons in the morning if it is not foggy. The spa and the pool are beautiful, you really don't have to leave the property unless you want to visit a winery, which you should do of course.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I spent out anniversary weekend in Napa and decided to go to brunch at Auberge du Soleil. The food was excellent (especially the duck confit hash). The view was amazing and the service was attentive. My only complaint was that our waiter seemed to be a bit pretentious but we just had another glass of wine and laughed about it. I loved the fragrance of the soap there- lemon verbena- but they are sold out of it :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had a great family lunch with the family. Very child friendly, great views. The more scenic part of Napa. Reminded me of Stellenbosch - SA. Wish we stayed! Excellent somelier, great recomendations on wine pairing. Worth the 30min trip.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My sister and I decided to take a drive to Auberge du soleil because of a recommendation by a friend. We didn't know what to expect except for the fact that it's supposed to have one of the most beautiful views of Napa Valley. Lo and behold, once we got there our breaths took a pause. The place was very classy and serene. It looked like a private spa of some sort. We were welcomed immediately by the staff and was led to the porch where we had a nice little table facing a wonderful view of Napa Valley. In my experience, the best time to go is at sunset. You'll see a beautiful view of the sun setting between two mountains a view of the vineyards below and a glass of wine in hand.

Simply put - THE FOOD WAS AMAZING. It was a fine dining set meal and although its very pricey it was worth every penny. The seared tuna stood the most to me. Also, the whole time I felt like I was being treated like an A - list celebrity.

It's the ultimate romantic fine dining moment for you and a loved one. It's private and beautiful.

I say don't miss out on this place when you visit Napa. (even if you have to shell out a ton for it)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Unequalled. A beautiful, smart luxury property in Napa. The service is professional and the views are unparalleled.

Lastntime, went for a weekend with friends and am always impressed with the entire experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are great to my knowledge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.