We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Martin's American Bistro

Paul Martin's American Bistro
1455 Eureka Road, Ste 100, Roseville, CA 95661
916-783-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Paul Martin's American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 343 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rocky Ridge
Description: The menu at Paul Martin’s consists of dishes aimed at taking diners back to the American farm with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced organic produce, fish from conscientious fishmongers, artisan cheeses and cured meats from small local purveyors and custom-made bread from expert bakers. The California-centric wine list twists and turns, by glass or bottle, through the Golden State’s fruitful vineyards, with an occasional stop for an Oregon Pinot Gris or a Washington dry Riesling. And behind Paul Martin’s elegantly rustic bar is an interesting array of local craft beer and spirited cocktails with fresh garnishes. Good times and thoughtful food are a way of life at Paul Martin’s local, American Bistro.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just got into town and had dinner here based on a strong recommendation from the desk clerk at our hotel. Reviews looked good here on TripAdvisor so went expecting a pleasant experience. Unfortunately we were disappointed.

The restaurant was fairly busy for a Sunday evening but certainly not slammed. The hostesses were pleasant and turned out to be the best part of the visit. Our waiter was inattentive and somewhat aloof. We ordered wine and all decided to have their Sunday special - prime rib. The soup/salad was served promptly but then things went into slow motion. It took almost two hours to get our entrees and then dessert. The food was okay but certainly did not wow us.

So in summary we were pretty much underwhelmed. Lots of other choices in the area for the rest of our week here so don't think we will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great All Occasion Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Paul Martin is a great restaurant for any occasion with very nice food. This is my favorite default place for a nice dinner. The short ribs are amazing......a favorite. A few nights ago we ordered the hanger steak and it is very very good. A little spice and delicious sauce. I ordered it medium rare so it would not come out tough, but it came out pretty rare. Unless you like very rare, I would order it on the rare side of medium or medium. Their salmon is good, not great. The only complaint I have is none of the meals come with anything green on the side. Just a few greens would be nice, especially since I did not want to order a side salad.

The service is very good, nice wine list. Their desserts lack. Dress is anything from business casual to nice dress. There is a bar area that is very casual. Something for everyone. Very nice decor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food - Spotty Service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Dined here for dinner with a large group on business. We started with cocktails on the patio and the service was quite good, with a constant flow of servers ensuring everyone's drinks were topped off. After moving into a semi private dining area, we had several appetizers that were also very good overall. Calamari was average however the roasted artichoke was quite excellent. The butternut squash soup was also quite good. It was more of a puree and tended to be slightly on the sweet side but very good. The hoisin pork chop was outstanding. This was a LARGE double cut, bone-in chop, that was perfectly prepared and well presented. I wasn't a big fan of the bacon infused brussel sprouts that accompanied my meal as the bacon/balsamic dressing overpowered the dish. Deserts were large and very good, with the chocolate cake and apple crisp dominating the choices around the table. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Service during dinner was a little spotty as on several occasions we needed to search for our server to re-fill drinks and water. I expect these to be taken care of without asking. That said, it was a good evening out on business and would return when I'm back in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

On a Sunday afternoon we tried the happy hour. Really tasty little bites including the roasted chicken wings. A very extensive wine list, but settled for the happy hour wines at four dollars a glass. The restaurant has an upscale appearance with friendly and efficient service. We learned that a Monday night special is currently a dinner for two with a bottle of wine for fifty dollars.
We will definitely be trying it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranco Cordova
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salmon Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The salmon tacos are delicious. I've had other menu items which were good but the salmon tacos are my favorite. Other folks in our group had the trout and were also very pleased. Great wine list.The noise level can be a bit high making it a bit difficult to talk with clients. Parking is ample with good access to Interstate 80.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Martin's American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Paul Martin's American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Martin's American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.