We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Martin's American Bistro

Paul Martin's American Bistro
1455 Eureka Road, Ste 100, Roseville, CA 95661
916-783-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Paul Martin's American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 371 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rocky Ridge
Description: The menu at Paul Martin’s consists of dishes aimed at taking diners back to the American farm with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced organic produce, fish from conscientious fishmongers, artisan cheeses and cured meats from small local purveyors and custom-made bread from expert bakers. The California-centric wine list twists and turns, by glass or bottle, through the Golden State’s fruitful vineyards, with an occasional stop for an Oregon Pinot Gris or a Washington dry Riesling. And behind Paul Martin’s elegantly rustic bar is an interesting array of local craft beer and spirited cocktails with fresh garnishes. Good times and thoughtful food are a way of life at Paul Martin’s local, American Bistro.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great food, wonderful service. Bit of a meat market on Friday night, almost all women for some reason. Loud but not impossible to have a civilized conversation over dinner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Kansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Party/event Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was here for a dinner party celebration in a private room for about 20; a display table was set up so I think the room capacity is probably at least 30. The staff was wonderful and the food excellent. The "room" was divided with long heavy curtains that provided privacy, and it looked like they could accommodate an even larger party using the space next to us. Having just arranged a rehearsal dinner I was keenly aware of the logistics. This would be a lovely venue for a holiday party, rehearsal dinner or other event. The food was served hot and at the same time, and the menu selected had something for everyone--beef, chicken, seafood and vegetarian. Plenty of free parking in a location easy to find, also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Rarely anywhere is a meal so perfect"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

By far my best dinner out this year (or maybe ever) was at Paul Martin's in Roseville Saturday night:

Baby Romaine Caesar
Mesquite Grilled Albacore seared medium rare,
Grilled Mango Salsa,
Grilled Snap Peas
Virgin Mojito

Rarely anywhere is a meal so perfect, as was the company of my lovely companion:)
Very comfortable atmosphere along with "World Class" service & live music !

I was surprised that Paul Martins Roseville CA was just one location in a relative small chain. That is very good news because you might just be able to find one along the way!
Great for romantic evening. Beautiful restaurant is softly lit with a very stylish integrated full bar.
I suggest that you take a look at Paul Martin's website or check out their Facebook page.
Thank you Paul Martin's!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Name--Even Better Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Here's the story: a trusted client told me that I should visit this restaurant because I have the same name as the restaurant. Oddly enough, he and I were in town at the same time so we went together. I'm glad he introduced me to my namesake!

The Butter Lettuce & Pt Reyes Blue Cheese salad had a clean, fresh, citrus overtone--perfectly matched with the candied walnuts, and sliced apple.

The Braised Short Rib was beautiful and tasty on its own. When you get a taste of the light horseradish cream, the dish elevated three notches. Great pairing! The mashed potatoes were buttery and surrounded by a moat of beef au jus. Delightful!

Save room for dessert--the Banana Cream Pie holds great flavor, but it also holds a little secret: the thin layer of chocolate makes it pass my grandmother's banana pie (sorry, grandma--may you rest in peace).

Overall, Paul Martin's--besides the great name--is fabulous restaurant for good conversation and great food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We love their food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great great great food. On par with Bandera in Sacramento. Sometimes their customer service is hit and miss. One time we got a horrible waitress during happy hour who was so rude and forgetful, but we still return because the food is awesome. Happy hour has $4 plates and their smoked chicken wings are to die for. Best I've ever had.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Martin's American Bistro also viewed

 
Roseville, CA
 

Been to Paul Martin's American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Martin's American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.