We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot's of good breakfast fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Pancake House

The Original Pancake House
10000 Fairway Dr, Roseville, CA 95678-3543
916-788-3040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 371 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: American, French, Creperie, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: TO OUR CUSTOMERS,It is our constant objective to serve you the finest pancakes and best breakfast available in Roseville and the whole Sacramento area. We strive to give you pleasant, courteous and unobtrusive service. We hope you will consider visiting us in Roseville, CA and trying one of our delicious pancakes, crepes, omelettes, waffles, or even lunch food. We also offer gluten-free friendly pancakes, waffles, sandwiches, and more. We use the highest quality ingredients possible, including fresh & local fruit and 93 score butter. We are sure we will “wow” your palette! Don’t settle for sub-standard breakfast. Join us to experience the difference that quality ingredients and quality people will make.We appreciate your patronage,Steve & Linda Smith, OwnersSome things that make our breakfast unique at The Original Pancake House in Roseville, CA:- Our Pancake Batter takes five days to make!- We serve fresh fruit from local farms.- Our coffee is a blend designed exclusively for our store.- Try some of our fresh squeezed orange juice for a change.- We make our own whipped cream.- Our lingonberries are imported from Sweden.- We do not use frozen or liquid eggs, only AA Grade fresh eggs.- Our meats are dry-cured and hickory-smoked.- 93 score butter is the highest grade possible, and we use it!
Sacramento
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lot's of good breakfast fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Anytime you go to the Original Pancake House, you're going to get great food. To tell you the truth, I'm not a huge fan of pancakes. But this place is different. The pancakes are very tasty and not so heavy that you feel overly stuffed and uncomfortable. They're light and delicious. The specialty pancakes such as the apple pancakes are incredible. The service is friendly and speedy. Going on a Sunday morning means you're going to have to wait for a table, but the 25 - 30 minute wait we were told turned out to be only about 20 minutes. It's well worth it.

You might want to think about ordering family style, there's plenty to share and you'll want to try what your friends or family are having. If you order one item per person, expect to take some of it home with you.

Whatever you order, you're not going to go wrong.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Try their specialties!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Original Pancake house is a great place for breakfast for the entire family. Make sure to try their specialties (the Dutch Baby, the 49ers and the apple pancake - which is more like an apple pie...). It's a little spendy but worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I hate to leave this review because this place has fantastic breakfasts, but it's already crowded on weekends so get there early. My favorite is the corned beef hash omelet with fresh squeezed grapefruit juice....mmmm....

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pancake heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you have a craving for a Dutch Baby, this is the place go. Traditional breakfast fare, nice size portions. Very good food

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not going back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

First visit about a year ago. We ordered one of the pancake specialties. They were good, but too much food. Service was ok. While we were eating, we noticed the gentleman next to us who had ordered some type of omelette, it was enormous and my husband said he wanted to go back again and try one of those.
I finally gave in and yesterday, we went back.
I ordered the Irish omelette (the waitress promised that this was the absolute best on the menu) , my husband ordered the Sausage and cheese omelette. They were slow to arrive and were the only thing on the plates, these two huge puffs of eggs and whatever all alone on white plates. The presentation was very unappealing. We were each served 3 smallish pancakes on the side.
These omelettes were truly the strangest things we had ever seen or tasted. First of all, the only resemblance to eggs was the slight yellow color, didn't taste like eggs or look like eggs the only flavor was in the cornbeef hash and the sausage. They were so full of puff that it was like eating a meringue. I ate about a quarter of mine and filled up on the pancakes.
We both agreed that we wouldn't be going back. Our bill was $23+ and we ordered only water to drink.
Later, that day on the phone, I discussed the meal with my sister and she informed me that there is another pancake house chain that offers omelettes and adds flour to the egg mixture in order to make them airy and fluffy. I think that may be the case at this place as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.