We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Provence

La Provence
110 Diamond Creek Place, Roseville, CA 95747
916-789-2002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Provence is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 371 restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Oak
Description: La Provence offers 4-Star cuisine with an emphasis on quality fresh seasonal and locally grown ingredients combining the flavors of France and the Mediterranean Regions. Truly unique settings which suggest a European country estate with numerous rooms and creekside terrace seating. Surrounded by 51 acres of parks and open space, the perfect location for special events or wedding celebrations. Specialize in accommodating groups and events, from an all day meeting to corporate dinners and presentations.
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have a lot of friends who like it here and had suggested it to us. Our first and only experience was not great. Service was not good, and food was definitely not great. Probably won't return.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    21
    19
    18
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The food is usually very good - - the service is also usually very good although ocassionally they seem to be a little short-handed which can make for a long lunch session. The setting is fantastic. The interior is so beautiful and the outdoor area is amazing - surrounded by oak trees and nature area. La Provence is not perfect but they try very hard and we are so lucky to have this fabulous restaurant in Roseville.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Snooty and unwelcoming hostess with the leastest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We had to call and leave a message so that we could dine here(wth?!) when we arrive the snooty hostess asked if we had a reservation. We said no. She said well then it will be a 20 minute wait. Then we said, but we did call and leave a message that we wod line to make a reservation for two. She then said, ok, follow me, right this way. (Wth!?). We sat outside in this alley way by the window. The service was good and the food was as well. But our first impression was, seriously people get over yourselves. Live music would have been nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Food was OK but evey expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I had dinner there May 14th. The restaurant is very nice an comfortable inside and the server (Shannon) was every nice and informative. The only issue I have with the restaurant is that it is very expensive for what they serve. We had the Calamari (below average..and they added deep fried peppers and lemon slices to add to the skimpy calamari serving). I had the scollops,,,three...two average size and one very small...price $29.....way to expensive for what it was....Double Oban 14 yr scotch...$23+...Ouch!
We will not return because there are many restaurants in our area that offer much more for the price...Mike O.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Roseville Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Tucked away in a part of West Roseville known more for strip malls and fast food joints is this wonderful French restaurant. The garden setting is gorgeous, making outdoor dining a wonderful experience. The real stars, however, are the food and service. The cuisine leans toward classical French with modern preparations, and the dishes are always inventive, delicious, and beautifully plated. The restaurant often posts its lunch and dinner offerings on facebook, leading to much drooling and envy on my part. Service is outstanding, with a highly knowledgeable wait staff who are always attentive without being overbearing. The wine list is fabulous, with some very good wines at great prices. Whether indoors or out, the setting is romantic and cozy, although this is a good spot for groups, too. Sunday brunch is one of the best in the Sacramento area. This restaurant is a wonderful gem in an otherwise bland suburban location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Provence also viewed

 
Roseville, CA

Been to La Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.