We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but it used to be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant

Mikuni Japanese Restaurant
1565 Eureka Rd, Roseville, CA 95661-3045
916-797-2112
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 371 restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Roseville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but it used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Maybe there are other sushi restaurants that opened recently which are very good in comparison, but I remember Mikuni being absolutely fantastic. Not so sure anymore, seems like they use imitation crab quite a bit. No more miso with your meal... Don't get me wrong the sushi is still very good and the fish is very fresh. I used to only go to Mikuni and that is no longer the case. Oh, and 6.50 for a draft beer (pint) did not help at all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    51
    18
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Mikuni is has been a favorite of mine since moving to Roseville 4 years ago. So great to be able to find quality sushi outside of the Bay Area. It's definitely a splurge but great for dinner with friends, or a date night. If you really love sushi look into their Sushi 101 class that teaches you how to make it. It's a fun and delicious way to eat your way through learning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Guaranteed Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I don't know how they get fresh fish all the way out here in Roseville but that place is always really good. They have always been busy when I have gone but the staff is competent, they have designated lanes and just sort of organize everyone in there. Fast service, creative menu with combinations and rolls I've never seen. It's like having sushi in Palo Alto without the cries of Saki Bomb echoing throughout the restaurant. I liked it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We craved Mikuni sushi while we were in Europe, and our first trip back didn't disappoint. Two of us shared a small order of seared ahi and a Sushi Illustrated lunch combo. It was PLENTY of food for two and we left with happy tummies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seen one - seen 'em all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

ditto - nothing outstanding here except we had a great waiter at lunch. The place was crowded, so it must be popular with the locals. Servings were large and food was good. Ultimately, isn't that what lunch is supposed to be?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikuni Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mikuni Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikuni Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.