We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't too impressed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant

Mikuni Japanese Restaurant
1565 Eureka Rd, Roseville, CA 95661-3045
916-797-2112
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 341 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wasn't too impressed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had heard great things about this place, and many people we know have talked it up. I took my Japanese husband here and we were not impressed by the food. I mean the grilled edamame was a good started, but the rolls were nothing special. We like Blue Nami's rolls much better.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    18
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

fresh fish, great service. The stmosphere was good, it is crowded! Prices are a bit high but so is the food quality. I would return again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A wonderful Japanese restaurant---our whole family loves this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have eaten at Mikuni many times---at two different locations in Roseville. The food is outstanding and truly delicious. The staff is friendly and everyone is welcomed at the door. Lots of fun. Our family, including grandchildren, love this restaurant and always ask to return. Prices are moderate. If you love good sushi, don't miss this great place---many locations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Level Contributor
393 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Not All Menu Items Are Equal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We decided to visit this restaurant based on the Trip Advisor Reviewers giving this place a number one rating for all of Roseville. We did not have time to read the other reviews for recommendations about what to order, so we had to wing it.
We ate on a Monday morning (opens at 11:30AM). Both of us ordered Bento boxes. I had the Sesame Chicken and Shrimp/Vegetable Tempura. My companion had Teriyaki Salmon and Potato Croquet.
My selection was unwise as I did not realize the Sesame Chicken would come deep fried with a tempura coating. Therefore, my entire Bento was mostly deep fried. The food was good, but not as good as I had expected based on the review ranking.
My companion's Teriyaki Salmon was excellent. However, the Potato Croquet was only average. In addition, she had an upset stomach later in the afternoon, which she attributed to the meal.
Based on the experience, we recommend that you avoid the Bento boxes, which are the less expensive menu items, and stick to the items most highly recommended by the other reviewers.
The service was excellent and the place was very clean. The restrooms were clean and well stocked. Parking was ample.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Right beside Century Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

So what's a vegetarian like myself doing giving Mikuni's a five-star review? Best vege tempura in town!! And great service.

My wife enjoys all sorts of sushi when we go, but I stick with the least-greasy vegetable tempura I've ever had. And the location is convenient for after-movie dining. Place is always busy!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikuni Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mikuni Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikuni Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.