We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Japanese restaurant---our whole family loves this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant

Mikuni Japanese Restaurant
1565 Eureka Rd, Roseville, CA 95661-3045
916-797-2112
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 372 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A wonderful Japanese restaurant---our whole family loves this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have eaten at Mikuni many times---at two different locations in Roseville. The food is outstanding and truly delicious. The staff is friendly and everyone is welcomed at the door. Lots of fun. Our family, including grandchildren, love this restaurant and always ask to return. Prices are moderate. If you love good sushi, don't miss this great place---many locations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    51
    19
    15
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Not All Menu Items Are Equal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We decided to visit this restaurant based on the Trip Advisor Reviewers giving this place a number one rating for all of Roseville. We did not have time to read the other reviews for recommendations about what to order, so we had to wing it.
We ate on a Monday morning (opens at 11:30AM). Both of us ordered Bento boxes. I had the Sesame Chicken and Shrimp/Vegetable Tempura. My companion had Teriyaki Salmon and Potato Croquet.
My selection was unwise as I did not realize the Sesame Chicken would come deep fried with a tempura coating. Therefore, my entire Bento was mostly deep fried. The food was good, but not as good as I had expected based on the review ranking.
My companion's Teriyaki Salmon was excellent. However, the Potato Croquet was only average. In addition, she had an upset stomach later in the afternoon, which she attributed to the meal.
Based on the experience, we recommend that you avoid the Bento boxes, which are the less expensive menu items, and stick to the items most highly recommended by the other reviewers.
The service was excellent and the place was very clean. The restrooms were clean and well stocked. Parking was ample.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Right beside Century Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

So what's a vegetarian like myself doing giving Mikuni's a five-star review? Best vege tempura in town!! And great service.

My wife enjoys all sorts of sushi when we go, but I stick with the least-greasy vegetable tempura I've ever had. And the location is convenient for after-movie dining. Place is always busy!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I go to Mikuni's in Roseville frequently, especially before going to a movie next door to it. The food and service have always been great. We got hooked on "Spicy Dream #3" combo, but started trying new items in the last year, and have always been extremely satisfied.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sushi is one of our favorite foods. We have eaten it around the world and still Mikuni's is the best. It is a little more expensive but its always excellent. I wish they would offer some Groupons or Living Social vouchers. Been going there for 10 years. Its the best, hands down!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikuni Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mikuni Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikuni Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.