We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place For A Luncheon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
1179 Galleria Boulevard, Roseville, CA 95678
916-788-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 379 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roseville Parkway
Description: Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Place For A Luncheon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We picked this restaurant because it was # 1 Italian in Roseville on Trip Advisor. They were very helpful in setting up a luncheon for our son who just graduated from Cal Berkeley. We had 26 guests and everyone had a great time. The meal and service was well above average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    27
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Roseville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My tennis team spent three days in Roseville because of a USTA league tennis event. We ate twice at Il Fornaio. I've been to Roseville a lot, and in my mind, there's no question that Il Fornaio is the best restaurant in the city. The service each time was great. My friend and I arrived a few minutes before the reservation, and as we waited at the bar's edge while the rest of the group trickled in, a couple of servers stopped by to ask if we needed anything. We said we didn't, but she still brought us a glass of ice water. The same attitude permeated the rest of the wait staff both nights: whatever they could think of to make our visit better, they did it whether we requested it or not.

On top of that, the food was really well prepared. We had cocktails and ordered off the wine list too. The prices were reasonable and there were some pretty interesting wines on the list. The menu has all kinds of choices, whether you want fish, some other kind of meat, or pasta. Everyone agreed it is probably Roseville's best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Regional Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We go to IlFornaio at least once a month and try the Regional Menu which changes every month depending upon the region of Italy they decide to do the menu on. We've been going monthly for years and all the food is outstanding. IlFornaio makes everything from scratch with high quality ingredients, which is so much tastier than the average restaurant which gets a lot of their food from Cisco. There is a huge difference in the taste of food made from scratch with real chefs as opposed to low paying cooks putting already made food together and heating it up. If you dine out as much as we do, you'll notice a big difference and want to dine only at high quality dining restaurants like IlFornaio. The salads, soups, main entrees and desserts are home made, gourmet and top quality. It's been our favorite restaurant since it opened. I would highly recommend IlFornaio for anyone that cares about the quality of their food. The ambiance is also excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have eaten here a few times with my wife and we find it very good. I have eaten at their restaurants in Vegas and Seattle, and this one is every bit as good. They have a nice outdoor seating area, good food and prompt service. What has really surprised me is we have gone at 7 pm on Friday and Saturday nights and been able to get in. Very surprising given how good and reasonable it is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The lunch and service were above par”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Try the salad with stawberries along with the antipasta plate. Beautifull restaurant with excellent service

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.