We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare good Italian chain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
1179 Galleria Boulevard, Roseville, CA 95678
916-788-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 377 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roseville Parkway
Description: Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sacramento
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A rare good Italian chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Typically, I don't prefer corporate chain restaurants, especially Italian chains. The food is usually only fair on their best days and pretty unimaginative. However, Il Fornaio is an exception. To be fair, it's not the standard chain. They don't have hundreds of locations and they are much more upscale than most others.

Il Fornaio truly acts as if it's a high-end local restaurant even though the menu is the same from location to location. Regardless, the food is very good, with a pretty good variety, and the service is first-rate. The atmosphere is excellent.

The kitchen is amenable to modifying dishes to suit your taste and however it's ordered, it comes out beautifully. The food is flavored just right and to the right doneness. I highly recommend the risotto which is cooked to perfection.

The pizzas are wonderful which coming from me--a pepperoni/sausage/mushroom guy--is quite a compliment as I rarely like the "gourmet" type pizzas.

Pure and simple, Il Fornaio is a great place to go if you want a nice night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited last weekend to celebrate a birthday. The service was excellent. We ordered off the seasonal specialty menu and the meal was fabulous. What I appreciate about this location of Il Fornaio is that it is always a good experience. The food, service and experience is consistent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Roseville location never disappoints.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you like fresh and tasty Italian food, Il Fornaio is a great choice! From the bread before your meal to the main course and right down to dessert, you'll love every bite. The Margherita pizza is one of my favorites. They use a wood fired stove that adds to the flavor of the pizza.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants in the area, so I setup a reservation for our anniversary dinner. To my surprise because I happened to mention it was our anniversary, il Fornaio set us up a "table of honor". special red table cloth, notebook, complimentary appetizer, pasta and desert. How special!
We ordered from the "Festa Regionale" menu. The meal was wonderful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Service is very good and the pasta dishes are well prepared. For this visit I ordered the rib-eye steak which was cooked perfectly. We ordered several drinks from the bar which had to be redone but other than that we had pleasant meal. Nothing was outstanding, but that can be a good thing too. Prices are a little on the high side for what you get, but the atmosphere is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.