We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Casual Dining for a Casual Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
1613 Douglas Blvd, Roseville, CA 95661-2901
916-782-8424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 371 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A Casual Dining for a Casual Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent a casual evening dining with a friend in this Thai restaurant. The overall atmosphere is very clean, comfortable and relaxing. The food was a bit on the salty side (according to my taste buds) but overall good. The server even made a recommendation on what to eat since I have not been there.

I always peek on the back room of each restaurant I visit specially the kitchen and restroom. This place needed a little organizing.

Will I go back? yes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
roseville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love Thai Basil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located in a non descript location off Douglas Blvd. next to the Office Depot, Thai Basil is one of longer standing restaurants in Roseville, CA, going back to when there where not a lot of quality restaurants to choose from. Thai Basil has survived the recession and seems to be prospering which should say a lot about the food and service. I hadn't been there in a while so my wife and I stopped in the on a recent Thursday night. As we walked in we noticed a solo music artist was playing some delightful low key guitar and multiple flutes which is perfect for the restaurants ambience. We ordered the 1/2 chicken and a thai noodle dish. Both were delicious and the chicken was excellent. Even with just two dishes and rice, the portions were more than enough and we even had chicken left to take home. Take out or eat in, it's a great choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's taken me 5 years to try this place since someone recommended it to me......I wish I hadn't waited for so long. The interior of the restaurant is beautiful.....the walls are done in different, complimentary colors, the furnishing are lovely, the chairs are oversized and very comfortable....and then there is the food !!! I am not familiar with Thai cuisine so I ordered something very basic, the PAD THAI ,( noodles with prawns, chicken, tofu, egg and bean sprouts, sprinkled with roasted peanuts) The presentation was a work of art, almost hated to dismantle it .....and the food was delicious! The prawns were absolutely fresh and succulent, the overall flavor of the dish was interesting , but not spicy, all of the ingredients were fresh and well prepared. I will be a regular customer here, and will bring my friends, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This one is EASY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

You know how you sometimes like a place that is an absolute know quantity? Thai Basil!

This is a small Thai restaurant back off the north side of Douglas Blvd, that just never varies -- in the quality of service and the excellence of the food. For vegetarians like me, they never blink an eye when I order green curry with tofu.

So if you want a place for Thai where you don't have to exert yourself for a great meal - Thai Basil.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We ordered some chicken in coconut and yellow curry sauce and veges in peanut sauce, with sticky rice. Very tasty and large portions. Excellent service. We would have appreciated some Thai music to go with the dinner instead of the soft rock that was playing. We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.