We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmelita's Restaurant

Carmelita's Restaurant
204 Riverside Ave, Roseville, CA 95678-3146
916-783-0411
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmelita's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 374 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hollister, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here over a year ago, and finally went back. The food was great the first time and continues to be great. They remodelled some of the inside and it made a great difference. If you haven't eaten here lately, you must try it. The guac was perfect, the chips were warm and not the cheap thin ones. Beans and salsa for dipping. I had the Picado which was outstanding. A nice slightly upscale Mexican restaurant. Will be going back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“if you like waiting for service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

If you like waiting for service and constantly asking for them you to bring the same thing you've already asked for than this is the place for you. We had been seated 20mins before we even got asked what we wanted for a drink than we had to ask for the waiter to take are order half of the food didn't come we had to constantly ask for service and it would take them a good 10 mins for them to bring you what u ask for. The food was good when it finally showed up. AVOID the Roseville restaurant go to fair oaks way better service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Salsa In Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The atmosphere and food here is always authentic, the service is always quick and well executed, and the feeling is always comfortable. Recently the restaurant upgraded its bar area and has a guitarist come in to add to the ambviance. The food here is always a good portion and very tasty. The salsa here is made in house so the intensity changes from time to time but it is always spicy and delicious, best salsa in town! To go orderes are also done quickly and with a smile and the food never fails! Yum! Great to have a good go-to Mexican food joint that isn't a chain. The family friendly wait staff and environment here, only adds to the food and the flavor of the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Average Mexican restaurant with a few great dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We decided to try a new Mexican Restaurant since we have not been able to find a good Mexican place in the area. At 8:30 on Friday night the restaurant was "Seat Yourselves". The ambiance was family oriented, well lit and an "Old Mexico" flair. Fairly busy with open tables, we seated ourselves and were immediately introduced to our server, got tortilla chips, dipping sauce and black bean dip. The chips were thick and overcooked. The sauce was uneventful and what can you do with black bean dip? We requested fresh chips and they were making more but we never got any. We ordered Top Shelf margaritas (1 w/salt and 1 w/o) and 2 shots of Añejo Tequila. The margaritas came in water glasses, both had salt and only one shot. They fixed that quickly, but the margaritas were not very tasty. I expected better for $10. I ordered Enchiladas Tradicionales and my wife ordered a Steak Quesadilla. The meals were excellent; rice and beans were very tasty and the guacamole was perfect. Our waitress was very friendly, visited often but didn't interrupt us. We left full, satisfied but the drinks put our bill at $70. We didn't feel it was worth it. We probably won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's a tiny restaurant in downtown Roseville and I love the quaintness of it. The food is great & I've tried several things on the menu. Fast service, reasonable prices, & great food- what more could you ask for?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelita's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carmelita's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmelita's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.