We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mehfil Indian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mehfil Indian Restaurant
1605B Douglas Blvd., 271 Gates Street, Roseville, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 338 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
California Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We found this restaurant about one year ago. We go almost every Tuesday night for their buffet. Buffet is only on Tuesdays(5-9pm). It is the best Indian buffet. Where do I start. They have a large vegetarian section. The Butter Chicken is to die for. Large assortment of hot dishes. If you are not sure you like Indian food try this buffet. Buffet comes with Naan bread and Chai tea.
It is a family run restaurant. Their children are so well mannered and polite. They are so kind and helpful. Once they know you they always greet you with a hug.
You must try once and you will be hooked.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Salivating As I Write!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Even though this restaurant has been open for five years, this was our first visit. We had a coupon. (Their website has printable coupons.) The food was delicious! I had the Chicken Korma. The sauce was so flavorful, we ordered one "to go" for my daughter and her husband to sample. (He is an Executive Chef in Sacramento, so it was a tough audience. ) They both thought it was delicious! My husband had the Chicken Curry (spicy) and he loved it as well.
With the quality of the food, the prices and the very genial young men (owners sons) who are the wait staff, the restaurant should be more crowded. It is absolutely delicious! We will be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We come here on a weekly basis and we love it!!!!!! They treat us like family and the food is flavorful and consistent. Our favorite dish is the chicken rogan josh! Soooo declious!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hands down, BEST Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having frequented several Indian establishments throughout the country and being Indian I tend to be very critical of Indian restaurants that are not a good representative of my culture and with that being said I can stand behind a full recommendation of this restaurant. The food was seasoned perfectly, none of the spices were too strong, the meats (chicken) were tender and juicy and service was prompt. The owner even personally visited each table to make sure that meals were to each customers satisfaction. I will DEFINATELY return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Buffet, Very Tasty, Nicely Spiced Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend and I decided to try their lunch buffet based on several reviews I'd read. We were not at all disappointed.

The buffet had a good selection of a variety of dishes all of which were excellent. The green lettuce sals should be missed as it is bland iceberg lettuce. But everything else was delicious with a very fresh, mildly fiery taste.

One noticeable aspect was the lack of grease in the foods. I've sometimes experienced Indian food as oily and greasy. Not here. The flavors are fresh and well balanced. The lamb and chicken were succulent and the tandoori chicken was exceptionally moist. Even the goat meat was tender and lacking the unpleasant bones and gristle.

There are only 2 deserts offered in the buffet, the best of which was a wonderfully tasty chunky grated carrots, milk, sugar (or honey) pudding-like concoction. Not at all heavy.

I believe this is a family-run restaurant. The buffet is from 11-3 and as we came in after 2, we were but one of three occupied tables.

The restaurant is very clean, the bathrooms spotless, but the decor is totally unremarkable and quite trivial.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehfil Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mehfil Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mehfil Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.