We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not crowded on a rainy early evening Saturday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Urban Eats

Jack's Urban Eats
8620 Sierra College Blvd, # 110, Roseville, CA 95661-5936
916-791-5225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 343 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: American, Middle Eastern, Afghani
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Northern California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Not crowded on a rainy early evening Saturday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Friends wanted to go here so we joined them. You walk up to the counter to order and once your order is placed and paid for, they give you a number to place on your table. Food arrived in a timely manner; presentation was just okay. Had to pay about two bucks extra for french fries which were your basic out of the bag deep fried type. Chicken sandwich was a little dry but okay. Hubby had a salad that he said was "just okay". He wanted a cup of coffee....no hot drinks of any kind. As I said, just okay.....we won't go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good concept, bad execution”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We miss the Counter, and we finally got around to trying its replacement, Jack's. We arrived hungry, and left disappointed. We were kind of surprised, since this is basically a sliced meat place. You wait in line to order at a counter, then scramble to find a table. Some food is given to you when you pay, and other stuff is brought to the table, but the system was confusing. At the cashier, I received a plate of tri-tip, no sauce or sides, just tri-tip, and cups for drinks. After a few minutes our sweet potato fries arrived, followed by a plate turkey and mashed potatoes and a ala carte veggie sandwich. Not sure why we couldn't have everything all together, like at the Hofbrau on Watt. Anyway, the food was OK, nothing great. Prices were a little high for ala carte sandwiches and sliced meats. Decor and 90s music were fine. Now I am really missing the Counter.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salads are my favorite here, but there is something for everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Always like designing my own salad here with their expansive salad options. I like their Balsamic dressing. Others in my party tried the Turkey Berry sandwich on a wheat bun which they found delicious. I hear they have very special fries here with a yummy sauce. I saw lots of customers trying these out! Maybe next time... Lucky for us we live close by.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad sandwich!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The turkey-berry sandwich was mostly dark meat and had chunks of fat. I thought it was disgusting.

I won't be returning to Jack's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We opt to go here when we want a sit down salad or sandwich type meal. Food is fresh & tastes good, they are about as quick as a fast food restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Urban Eats also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Urban Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Urban Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.